Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Negombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    675
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Dreambox with HSDPA


    Does anyone know whether one can use hsdpa modem and a pc for dreambox?
    DM 600+80GB DM 7020+160GB+ LED 55"

  2. #2
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by felicianf View Post
    Does anyone know whether one can use hsdpa modem and a pc for dreambox?
    Hi Felician,
    The answer is yes, because am using an AIJI system HSPD modem, for the net
    and also for DM whenever I need to. works ok.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    56
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cogil View Post
    Hi Felician,
    The answer is yes, because am using an AIJI system HSPD modem, for the net
    and also for DM whenever I need to. works ok.
    That is fine cogil!. Can you say more on the speed(Bandwidth) you are connecting? Once connected to DM do you experience any freezing, etc?.

  4. #4
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Negombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    675
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cogil View Post
    Hi Felician,
    The answer is yes, because am using an AIJI system HSPD modem, for the net
    and also for DM whenever I need to. works ok.
    Can you elaborate on the set up dear Cogil?
    DM 600+80GB DM 7020+160GB+ LED 55"

  5. #5
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    19200bps modem,
    max speed 115.2kbps
    CDMA 2000 1xRTT
    450Mhz Band
    Browsing net & downloads goes to 163kbps for receive and transmit.
    when you use dm alone the speeds simply stay at 9.6kbps.- doesnt need much bandwith,with downloads and Dm same time you get freezing at times, like when net speed goes down to 48kbps. This is subject to my external antena plus rainy weather, and the net congestion at times.
    Most of the time is perfect and is 24hrs on net, within Nairobi city only.

  6. #6
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Posts
    78
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    hi

    pc should be always on?

    canu explain how to connect.
    thanks

    krish

  7. #7
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by krish View Post
    hi

    pc should be always on?

    canu explain how to connect.
    thanks

    krish
    To connect to the net, pc must be on.
    The modem is connected to pc through RS232 or USB,
    The DM is connected - with crossed cable - through the Ethernet connection of computer,
    or use a D Link to connect all that would use the internet, the the D Link to the Ethernet port of computer.
    Like I have two comps connected to the D Link, and the DM.
    The main comp with the D Link must be on for the others to connect to the net, and are also on LAN.
    When the main comp is off, I still use the modem to call and receive voice and SMS.

  8. #8
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default CDMA 2000 modem

    Some images for you





  9. #9
    Junior Member Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Limuru, Kenya
    Posts
    64
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Wink Dreambox 800 hd pvr internet connection through usb port

    HAPPY EASTER ALL,

    I have purchased a Dreambox 800 HD pvr receiver. I have connected the receiver through a ethernet cable which i have crossed over for communication with PC running on Windows Vista. I was wondering if the is a way to connect the receiver directly to a BROADBAND USB MODEM like SAFARICOM { KENYA } for access to the internet and what are the settings. Please also visit this site for all your DREAMBOX patch software and more Info---

    http://www.dreambox.it/sitemapmenu.htm
    http://www.laurals.net/index1.htm

    Have a very blessed week

  10. #10
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Negombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    675
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cogil View Post
    To connect to the net, pc must be on.
    The modem is connected to pc through RS232 or USB,
    The DM is connected through the Ethernet connection on computer,
    or use a D Link to connect all that would use the internet, the the D Link to the Ethernet port of computer.
    Like I have two comps connected to the D Link, and the DM.
    The main comp with the D Link must be on for the others to connect to the net, and are also on LAN.
    When the main comp is off, I still use the modem to call and receive voice and SMS.
    You mean to say by;

    1. Connecting the HSDPA modem to the PC's USB port
    2. Connecting the DM and PC by an Ethernet cable

    The Dreambox would connect to the internet?

    Please clarify.
    Thanks
    DM 600+80GB DM 7020+160GB+ LED 55"

  11. #11
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by felicianf View Post
    You mean to say by;

    1. Connecting the HSDPA modem to the PC's USB port
    2. Connecting the DM and PC by an Ethernet cable

    The Dreambox would connect to the internet?

    Please clarify.
    Thanks
    Thats very correct, The D Link is just for expansion of the ports for extras on Ethernet.

  12. #12
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kungu View Post
    HAPPY EASTER ALL,

    I have purchased a Dreambox 800 HD pvr receiver. I have connected the receiver through a ethernet cable which i have crossed over for communication with PC running on Windows Vista. I was wondering if the is a way to connect the receiver directly to a BROADBAND USB MODEM like SAFARICOM { KENYA } for access to the internet and what are the settings. Please also visit this site for all your DREAMBOX patch software and more Info---

    http://www.dreambox.it/sitemapmenu.htm
    http://www.laurals.net/index1.htm

    Have a very blessed week
    @Ndungu,

    This is possible , but if your connections are through a server-router
    what i dont know is how to make the dm access the net directly through a modem, it could be possible but havent tried it, will look on the manual to see if the set up is possible, for if it is then the dm500 should be able to do the same.

  13. #13
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Negombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    675
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cogil View Post
    Thats very correct, The D Link is just for expansion of the ports for extras on Ethernet.

    I dont think this would work.

    Anyone succeeded please comment.
    DM 600+80GB DM 7020+160GB+ LED 55"

  14. #14
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by felicianf View Post
    I dont think this would work.

    Anyone succeeded please comment.
    What you are forgetting is that the DM simply needs the internet, and once you have the net on your computer which has LAN, the LAN connects all users through the Ethernet port, you simply authorize all users, dm being one of them, to access the net through the modem-ed computer.
    Before this we could use a landline on dial up through the built in comp modem, and again the dm through the Ethernet port on LAN. Try it out, you have to start with networking through the Ethernet port, then after that dial up, adsl, or whatever way to get connected to the internet.
    best of all

  15. #15
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Negombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    675
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    I guess you need a HSDPA router for this.

    http://www.dlink.com/products/?model=DIR-451


    This might help.
    DM 600+80GB DM 7020+160GB+ LED 55"

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top