Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default ProgDVB EPG question


    I have a Pinnacle PCTV Sat card and ProgDVB,
    when I click on EPG icon, or Menu - Service - EPG, I get a box where I see date, hour, duration and some square
    in the lower pane I see allso a string of squares.
    Seems I should see a text, what are these squares?
    I see in the ProgDVB guide: ProgDVB® software do support for lot of different Plugins (for example EPG-plugin
    from Relict Marauder).
    My 4.55 version does need such a plugin? If yes what is to be donne?

  2. #2
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    643
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    EPG or Electronic Program Guide is usually only available when the channels bother to enter information. I think that is the question you are asking?

  3. #3
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Thanks; of corse, I can see only what it is transmitted; however what are the little squares? Is that normal? I had never seen text here.
    For example what I see for BBC Prime:
    �틬Iͣ
    What is that?

  4. #4
    Junior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    107
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    titano...frm wer u downloaded the ProgDVB?...i'm looking for it...wen eva i download...my McAfee says its virus

  5. #5
    AndyManchester
    Guest
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Default

    Do you mean you get this on all the EPG screens or do some display info and some display squares ?

    If you get this on all of them something is wrong. If I was you Id make sure I had the latest version from ProgDvb and remove the one you have now using the Add/Remove screen

    Then If this is still displaying squares on all the EPG Screens then make sure you have the latest driver update for Pinnacle PCSAT from this address :

    Pinnacle Driver 260

    If you are just seeing this on a couple of stations then its maybe just a bug and nothing to worry about or maybe there is no EPG available for the channel you are watching, If you view Hispasat check the film channels such as VideoOnDemand as they have EPG data if its Hotbird then check TPS and Multivision. Im not sure if BBC Prime shows EPG Data on Progdvb but could find out easy enough if you said what satellite you meant

    Regards

    Andy

  6. #6
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    I have PCTV version 3.10; with 2.6 version nothing is displayed.
    When I look to BBC World with original PCTV Sat Vision, I have two lines of hieroglyph, only BBC and time in the right corner are readable. Sometime I see a line in english.
    With ProgDVB on TPS (hotbird) a line of little squares is permanently shown in EPG window for any channel, but for FILM NET I see a good description in english of the movie.
    May be there is unicode text, but doesn't match chinese, japanese, russian or any known characters.

  7. #7
    Gold Member Expert
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Socialist Republic of Hypocrates
    Posts
    3,578
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    @titano
    yes, you are right, it is probably be the unicode text which ProgDVB is not efficiant enough to display it propely. you can try other DVB apps for better EPG display e.g. MyTheatre etc.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Yet another question about SS2 remote &ProgDVB,how?
    By teco730 in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th May 2006, 23:53
  2. question
    By showana22 in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 8th May 2006, 07:28
  3. an imp question
    By mohsen643 in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st October 2005, 21:49
  4. a question
    By mohsen643 in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21st October 2005, 11:10

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top