Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: No Com Port

  1. #1
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Negombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    675
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default No Com Port


    Is there any solution for a new laptop which doesnt have an extra com port -How can it be connected to the Dreambox via Null Modem Cable?
    Any idea?
    DM 600+80GB DM 7020+160GB+ LED 55"

  2. #2
    Member Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    503
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by felicianf View Post
    Is there any solution for a new laptop which doesnt have an extra com port -How can it be connected to the Dreambox via Null Modem Cable?
    Any idea?
    hi m8,,,u can get usb to com adapters
    cheers,,,dave

  3. #3
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    436
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by davidss1 View Post
    hi m8,,,u can get usb to com adapters
    yup, just a generic oen, plug and ply and u r up and running

  4. #4
    Member Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    677
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Use USB to serial adapter cable or
    PCMCIA card to serial

  5. #5
    Ali4u
    Guest
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Default Solution here ..


  6. #6
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Negombo, Sri Lanka
    Posts
    675
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Thanks a lot all of you ......
    DM 600+80GB DM 7020+160GB+ LED 55"

  7. #7
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    86
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Driver for USB

    No Driver needed ?

  8. #8
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    21.95° N 97.06° E
    Posts
    6,263
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ali4u View Post
    Dear I've tried out this one in my lappino but didn't work . What would be need to do more ?


    Thx.
    " 李俊明 Born To Help People "

    DM 500s , Pacific 3600 CI , Humax F2 Finder , Angel Box , My Dream Machine , Tatasky , KAON , Topfield 3030 , Yuri YR1Dap , Dynasat 7100 , F1 , Plus and II , Metabox II , 10 , Viva Vs 9000 , SkyBox II , X-Sat 430 , 420 , Bolt N2 , NewB , New Shine Ns 3000 , Victory V 889 , F1 Newshine , New Star , Innovia 3088 CA , Atom 7000 , PBI , Prosat , Dstv 3Q76 , GA 88a , Tatasky , Big Tv , Airtel .



  9. #9
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sri Lanka
    Posts
    78
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Unhappy


    yes dear felician
    i have a dell laptop it does not have a com port too..

    to connect my sitilink CDMA phone (to det internet) i bought a usb>com cable from pettah but didnt work even with the drivers they provided.
    then i bought a nother usb>com cable from teleshop(500rs) it didnt work too. it connects to internet but no data transfer.and also unable to disconnect.it hangs.(i have to restart)
    tried with a desktop usb port..result same..
    krish

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top