Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Gold Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,123
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Cum sa ai un Kathy mai puternic

    Acest post se adreseaza numai profesionistilor in electronica aplicata !

    --- System memory update mod by Kofola gang ---


    Anybody who tried to make their own image for Katy probably figured out that the linux memory is totally exhausted. Usually around a maximum of 1 MB remains free (try yourself using the free(1) command).

    If you start up any additional programs (for example the Samba server), linux ends up getting extremely slow and may start killing running processes in order to free up memory. First way to add a bit of extra memory is by increasing the bootargs argument "mem=32m" to something bigger. (Update: Kathrein guys did it exactly this way by switching to "mem=40m"). Another way, which we are proud to describe here, is by replacing the system memory chips. This mod gets its code-name "K2 mod" and is described below.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    BIG BIG WARNING

    * K2-mod requires soldering which definitely BREAKS YOUR WARRANTY!
    * Soldering may damage your box very easily, so you are doing it at YOUR OWN RISK!

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    System memory chips are located on the board between the main CPU STB7100 (biggest chip with passive cooler glued on it) and the front panel. Originally it is mounted with 2 Hynix HY5DU561622ETP chips,which gives 64MB of system RAM. Our modification is based on replacing those 2 chips by double sized ones. We successfully replaced with Hynix HY5DU121622CTP chips and even by some "noname" chips from a SO-DIMM plate, which has a similar organization (see Hynix data sheet for the required organization). The replacement procedure is as follow:

    1, replace system RAM chips
    2, flash new bootloader
    3, enjoy > 70MB of free memory ;

    We know that other chips will work too, but it requires your own modification of the init code in u-boot. We decided to stay with only one organization, which is the easiest to support.
    For those, who want to try out other chips (meaning chips with a different internal organization/timing) there is one hint: Check the SYS LMI part of the config registers to find the correct values for your chips.



    MemTotal: 102916 kB[/B][/FONT][/COLOR]
    MemFree: 75828 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    Buffers : 6356 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    Cached: 12584 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    SwapCached: 0 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    Active: 8656 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    Inactive: 10612 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    HighTotal: 0 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    HighFree: 0 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    LowTotal: 102916 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    LowFree: 75828 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    SwapTotal: 0 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    SwapFree: 0 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    Dirty: 0 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    Writeback: 0 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    Mapped: 1108 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    Slab: 3128 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    CommitLimit: 51456 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    Committed_AS: 1952 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    PageTables: 60 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    VmallocTotal: 523252 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    VmallocUsed: 4024 kB[/B][/COLOR][/FONT]
    VmallocChunk: 519136 kB[/COLOR][/FONT][COLOR=black][SIZE=3]



    Pentru cei interesati ...prin PM pot primi bootloaderul

  2. #2
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    290
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Sa inteleg ca in loc de cele 2 chipset-uri de memorie de cate 16mb punem doua de cate 32,64mb sau mai mult

  3. #3
    Gold Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,123
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Este vorba de RAM ! in loc de 64Mb RAM vei avea 128Mb RAM ! Flash-ul este suficient ! imaginile actuale au sub 10Mb in Flash !

  4. #4
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    290
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Am crezut ca ramul e de 32mb pt ca WEB-Interface imi arata:

    total used free shared buffers
    Mem: 32100 29192 2908 0 2424
    Swap: 0 0 0
    Total: 32100 29192 2908

    Pe de alta parte pe site-ul oficial in specificatii, ramul este de 128mb.

    http://www.kathrein.de/en/sat/produc...load/ufs910.pd



    Daca ma hotarasc sa schimb memoria, cum flash-uiesc bootloaderul

  5. #5
    Gold Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,123
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Este adevarat ce spui tu dar ... pe masina concreta ...se pare ca este doar 64Mb RAM ! Aceasta memorie este in egala masura folosita ca zona de lucru Linux dar si ca buffer video ! Rescrierea bootloaderului este o problema de tip jtag ! pe forum exista cativa experti in acest subiect ... riscul nu este deloc neglijabil !

  6. #6
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Timișoara
    Posts
    276
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Există pe undeva o carte tehnică pentru Kathy mă gndesc la placa de bază ct ram suportă(la un calculator mai mult ram= mai multă performanță), ce procesor are și dacă nu se poate băga ceva viteză n el, se poate pune un HDD și altele de genul acesta.
    SS2 prima iubire,
    Kathy a doua iubire + parabolă 1,4 cu motor + Samsung 40M8
    Mai nou UPC cablu digital maxim + 11 HD
    http://www.amway.ro/

  7. #7
    Banned Expert
    RDI - Board Banned Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    bucuresti
    Posts
    2,482
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    cum s-ar traduce/interpreta daca am pe placa :

    - 4 x http://www.hynix.com/datasheet/eng/g...u2=03&menu3=01

    - 2 x http://www.alldatasheet.co.kr/datash...640H-90BI.html

    placa este rev. 1.7 si ar fii 64mb flash sau 128mb flash si 256mb sau 1024mb ram

    pe de alta parte :

    - Mem 29980
    - Used 28832
    - Free 1148

    - Buffers 1752

    numai inteleg, sant memorii de capacitate mare da se foloseste 1/8 din capacitatealor ?

  8. #8
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    30
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lupull View Post
    numai inteleg, sant memorii de capacitate mare da se foloseste 1/8 din capacitatealor ?
    1 byte = 8 bit

    b = bit
    B = byte

    Trebuie avut grija la acest mic detaliu.
    Din diferite motive (marketing sau alte) unele valori se exprima in biti.

  9. #9
    Banned Expert
    RDI - Board Banned Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    bucuresti
    Posts
    2,482
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    pai chiar si asa :

    - 4 x 256mbiti impartit la 8 = 4 x 32mbyti (de ce se citesc numai 32mbyti cand sant 4 chipuri) si

    - 2 x 64mbiti impartit tot la 8 = 2 x 8mbyti (idem ca mai sus cand sant 2 chipuri)


    in final s-ar traduce ca are 16mbyti flash si 128mbyti ram (gddr sdram - graphics memory)

  10. #10
    Gold Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    3,123
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    "Originally it is mounted with 2 Hynix HY5DU561622ETP chips,which gives 64MB of system RAM" ...asa scrie in postul de start ! posibil ca este vb. de 64Mb system RAM + 64Mb video RAM !

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top