Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart-Germany
    Posts
    155
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Hotbird in Kandahar (Afghanistan)


    Hello everybody,

    There is somebody needing desperately help in Kandahar (Afghanistan). He is trying to receive the german Das Erste/ARD (11604H) and ZDF (11054H) on Hotbird 6 with a 1.20m dish. He is located in the 42dbW zone so if the footprint is equal to the real conditions he should find at least weak signal but there is absolutely nothing although he has aligned exactly the dish to 13E as shown at http://s5.directupload.net/file/d/1365/tkpihxt7_jpg.htm.

    If anybody is nearby and could help this would be great. I really wonder if 1.20m are sufficient there but i fear that not reading the difficulties occur in many pakistani locations.

    Any help ?
    Thanks a lot in advance.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    15
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deepbluesky View Post
    Hello everybody,

    There is somebody needing desperately help in Kandahar (Afghanistan). He is trying to receive the german Das Erste/ARD (11604H) and ZDF (11054H) on Hotbird 6 with a 1.20m dish. He is located in the 42dbW zone so if the footprint is equal to the real conditions he should find at least weak signal but there is absolutely nothing although he has aligned exactly the dish to 13E as shown at http://s5.directupload.net/file/d/1365/tkpihxt7_jpg.htm.

    If anybody is nearby and could help this would be great. I really wonder if 1.20m are sufficient there but i fear that not reading the difficulties occur in many pakistani locations.

    Any help ?
    Thanks a lot in advance.
    Dear deepbluesky,

    I am in Peshawar Pakistan adjecent to the boreder of Afghanistan. I am getting your mentioned channels with strong signal. If he would align his
    dish so I am sure he would get all these channels easily.... I am in the east of Kandhar..

    Good Luck..
    Last edited by Tranquility; 14th March 2008 at 07:38.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    35
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    How big is your dish?

  4. #4
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    15
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by charly20 View Post
    How big is your dish?
    Well, I have 6-ft dish...

  5. #5
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart-Germany
    Posts
    155
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Thanks for your interest Tranquility but the fact that you are using a dish with double surface might make the difference. Further on you are 600km away from Kandahar.

    Are you aware of anybody in Peshawar receiving these 2 frequencies with only 1.20m ?

  6. #6
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    15
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deepbluesky View Post
    Thanks for your interest Tranquility but the fact that you are using a dish with double surface might make the difference. Further on you are 600km away from Kandahar.

    Are you aware of anybody in Peshawar receiving these 2 frequencies with only 1.20m ?
    Sorry I do not know anyone here. actually I am in a village of peshawar and only I have dish..

  7. #7
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    5
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Cool

    Hello Guys !

    I am in main Peshawar.i am being able to receive the mentioned channels on my 8 feet solid clearly. no probs

  8. #8
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    15
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimm View Post
    Hello Guys !

    I am in main Peshawar.i am being able to receive the mentioned channels on my 8 feet solid clearly. no probs
    Dear mate, he is asking about smaller dish size

  9. #9
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart-Germany
    Posts
    155
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tranquility View Post
    Sorry I do not know anyone here. actually I am in a village of peshawar and only I have dish..
    I see. Thanks anyway.

  10. #10
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart-Germany
    Posts
    155
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jimm View Post
    Hello Guys !

    I am in main Peshawar.i am being able to receive the mentioned channels on my 8 feet solid clearly. no probs
    Thanks also to you jimm. But only a 1.20m dish is availabe there.

  11. #11
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    9
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tranquility View Post
    Dear mate, he is asking about smaller dish size


    ......hummmmm....now -a-days every body is afraid of talibans there......ooops sorry if i heart the feelings.....bro with a smaller dish..no way....the only solution is a an 8 feet solid dish...or 10 feet mesh type....

  12. #12
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    9
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deepbluesky View Post
    Thanks also to you jimm. But only a 1.20m dish is availabe there.
    well sorry to hear that but u can ask some transporter to bring it for u from pakistan..trust me its very easy..now-a-days everybody is making good bucks by smuggling whatever u require.

    thnx and goodluck.

  13. #13
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart-Germany
    Posts
    155
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    The person that is interested in these 2 frequencies won't stay long there so i don't think it's worth to get a bigger dish from Pakistan. That's why i was asking if it's possible with his existing 1.20m.

  14. #14
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    5
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Smile


    deep blue sky cant u get a bigger dish from kabul i guess they are some good satellite shops there.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top