Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In a Weird RooM
    Posts
    835
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default intresting BUG in microsoft windows......

    Are you able to create a folder named



    Aux

    Con

    Nul



    You would not be able to create a folder with the names mentioned above….



    How is it ?



    Nobody knows.....
    Im NoT InSaNe ,U r InSaNe , U r All InSaNe....

  2. #2
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    because these words are being used as parameters or syntax in some commands, like "copy con blahblah" so if you have a directory named "con" you will copy it to blahblah instead of making a file named blahblah, get it?

    microsoft windows is a bug itself!
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  3. #3
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    ML
    Posts
    270
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default hello

    Boknoy u explain it right


    Quote Originally Posted by boknoy_ph
    because these words are being used as parameters or syntax in some commands, like "copy con blahblah" so if you have a directory named "con" you will copy it to blahblah instead of making a file named blahblah, get it?

    microsoft windows is a bug itself!
    [/b]

  4. #4
    Member Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In a Weird RooM
    Posts
    835
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Here is the exact explanation

    The File Naming Rules
    The file system has the following rules for creating names for files or directories:

    All characters greater than ASCII 31 to be used except for the following: "*/:<>?\|
    The name may not be only dots
    The following device names cannot be used for a file name nor may they be used for the first segment of a file name (that part which precedes the first dot):
    CLOCK$, AUX, CON, NUL, PRN, COM1, COM2, COM3, COM4, COM5, COM6, COM7, COM8, COM9, LPT1, LPT2, LPT3, LPT4, LPT5, LPT6, LPT7, LPT8, LPT9
    Device names are case insensitive. (i.e. aux, AUX, Aux, etc. are identical.)
    Names cannot be longer than 255 characters unless UNICODE paths are used
    Im NoT InSaNe ,U r InSaNe , U r All InSaNe....

  5. #5
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    there are so many bugs on windows explorer. it will take us days to discuss it here, lol.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  6. #6
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Behind Thor
    Posts
    284
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boknoy_ph
    there are so many bugs on windows explorer. it will take us days to discuss it here, lol.
    Never had any problems and been using it for 10 years

    Keep it updated and you are fine and run defrag once a month.

  7. #7
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    xp or ms windows is ok if you are not particular about the nuances of the operating system. i have been using windows since windows 3.0, the earliest i had. my pc back then was an xt with 256k of ram (the ones with sticking pins) and a 10MB hdd.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  8. #8
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    205
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default some trick

    Quote Originally Posted by boknoy_ph
    xp or ms windows is ok if you are not particular about the nuances of the operating system. i have been using windows since windows 3.0, the earliest i had. my pc back then was an xt with 256k of ram (the ones with sticking pins) and a 10MB hdd.
    Windows 3.0 on an xt? That must have been some trick.
    That version could only run on an AT machine with extended memory.

  9. #9
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    i know. it was like a walk, not run, lol. had to modify by hand a lot of drivers back then, load the OS on an AT, then put back the disk on XT, it crawled like hell. everytime i want to play games (die hard3) i had to uninstall all other software then install the game. but i really enjoyed the good old dos days. wasn't it a challenge on how you would cram up all ur TsR softwares on the measly memory back then?
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  10. #10
    Member Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In a Weird RooM
    Posts
    835
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    im the user of computer when commadr came u insert the cassete in it then i bot 386 and p1 p2 3 4 n so on...but i still hate microsoft ..may be i feel it more coz the internet service providers r not filtered and are full of bugs over here.i like linux but i cant operate it very well..im waiting for LINDOWS 4.0 i hope it will give me satisfaction and i will get rid of these fuckin viruses.
    Im NoT InSaNe ,U r InSaNe , U r All InSaNe....

  11. #11
    Member Mentor
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In a Weird RooM
    Posts
    835
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boknoy_ph
    i know. it was like a walk, not run, lol. had to modify by hand a lot of drivers back then, load the OS on an AT, then put back the disk on XT, it crawled like hell. everytime i want to play games (die hard3) i had to uninstall all other software then install the game. but i really enjoyed the good old dos days. wasn't it a challenge on how you would cram up all ur TsR softwares on the measly memory back then?
    u did enjoy the 3.0 cuz then u had no internet no tension of getting viruses ..i rem tht i had no need to install windows cuz i only was the user of paint ..i been using nt 4.0 windows very very strong windows u can use it the whole year but its also manual u have to install everything and then comes the compatibility.its not for new world order so..
    Im NoT InSaNe ,U r InSaNe , U r All InSaNe....

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Intresting Receiver
    By shadowkhan in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd May 2006, 19:18
  2. Microsoft 'WINDOWS VISTA'
    By hepa in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th January 1970, 22:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top