Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Down the road
    Posts
    203
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Trying to open a port in router for Gbox


    I got a D-LINK router DSL 2540T, I have been all over the manual trying to find out how to open a port, and assigning that port to my Dreambox IP to use along with Gbox. I was told, this would eliminate the freezing I'm experiencing with CCcam-2.0.3 Does anyone know about this router or can recommend a possible solution.

  2. #2
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Use the DCC control on dreambox,
    this should automatically detect the ip on your router,
    plus you can give the dm an ip number manually and
    then detect it through the Dreambox control on your pc.

  3. #3
    Member Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    thailand
    Posts
    592
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    or you can look here this will tell you how to open ports set up a static ip and moor http://www.portforward.com/english/r...outerindex.htm

  4. #4
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    access your router IP webpage menu (usually 192.168.1.1) then go to advanced, click user and input your dm IP and the port you wish to forward.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  5. #5
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    98.98 East 18.56 north
    Posts
    1,201
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mellow View Post
    I got a D-LINK router DSL 2540T, I have been all over the manual trying to find out how to open a port, and assigning that port to my Dreambox IP to use along with Gbox. I was told, this would eliminate the freezing I'm experiencing with CCcam-2.0.3 Does anyone know about this router or can recommend a possible solution.
    its for 2640T
    but i think its the same Setup
    http://www.portforward.com/english/r...T/Utorrent.htm
    Daeng

    10FT Dish 169° east-49°east

  6. #6
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Down the road
    Posts
    203
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Thanks for the replies guys, I'm having problems with my network and am using the PC in my office which I can connect to the internet on for the moment, therefore not using my son's PC which is the host and has the router connected to it and the Dreambox connected to it. I have been reading on that website much of the info available but will check into your advise further. Daeng, the particular link on said website I had been also checking out, but the problem I was confronted with there is that it asks for a particular application such as uTorrent in the case portrayed in the link and the Dreambox is not an application, if this doesnt matter cause I am only trying to open a particular port please let me know.
    Boknoy_PH, I'll also get back to you after checking out the router with your advise.
    cogil and big pimpin thanks also.

  7. #7
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    873
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mellow View Post
    Thanks for the replies guys, I'm having problems with my network and am using the PC in my office which I can connect to the internet on for the moment, therefore not using my son's PC which is the host and has the router connected to it and the Dreambox connected to it. I have been reading on that website much of the info available but will check into your advise further. Daeng, the particular link on said website I had been also checking out, but the problem I was confronted with there is that it asks for a particular application such as uTorrent in the case portrayed in the link and the Dreambox is not an application, if this doesnt matter cause I am only trying to open a particular port please let me know.
    Boknoy_PH, I'll also get back to you after checking out the router with your advise.
    cogil and big pimpin thanks also.
    If you look carefully at them pics
    Goto lan clients and add your PC IP address

    Then goto Virtual Server

    You must then choose option ( USER )
    at top scroll down for the IP you just entered in LAN CLIENTS

    this will now allow you to open ports of your choose

    you have to ceate the lan client first before you can open ports

    Last edited by PhuketSatellite; 22nd January 2008 at 07:00.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    84
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    forword you port agin ip and enjoy it
    You need card sharing Chack This
    http://cardsharing.freetzi.com/
    [email protected]

  9. #9
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Down the road
    Posts
    203
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Thanks PhuketSatellite. Thats not exactly in the help pages. The address for the Dreambox was already available in the scroll down menu as it already had been entered into LAN clients. You wouldn't be able to tell me what category I should choose, once inside the virtual server window, should I remain with USER ,push on add and go to the next window? Enter a rule name, choose TCP/UDP? If entering a single port, does same port number go into port start and port end? Does this also apply for port map and port map end. This is it for this window, whatever guidance you can continue giving me on this will be much appreciated. Daeng give me a link to a similar page, as shown in my D-Link2540T, but the example is for an existing application, while this is for a specific IP address assigned to the Dreambox, and although I've been reading about this and messing with it for a couple of days, I think I'm still new at it.

  10. #10
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    yes, the page Daeng was showing you gives a specific, known program to add. the concept is the same. you enter the router IP, give the admin/username, go to Advanced, put a tick on user and click "add" on the lower part. port map/end, port start/end is the same for that specific IP. you can use any preset configuration on the router as long as the port being mapped pertains to that of your DM's IP address.

    here is yet again another example (just change the name if you want).

    http://www.portforward.com/english/r...T/Echolink.htm
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  11. #11
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Down the road
    Posts
    203
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Thank you for all your help. mellow.

  12. #12
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    i hope that means you got it sorted now.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  13. #13
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Down the road
    Posts
    203
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boknoy_ph View Post
    i hope that means you got it sorted now.
    Unfortunately that is not the case. Although your link and explanation were a great help in the procedure of opening the port, this D-Link2540T router is giving me and a technician a hard time in getting this entire network up and running with this wireless CAT telephone.

  14. #14
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Down the road
    Posts
    203
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    Everything up and running since yesterday, thank you boknoy and Phuketsat for the links and the walk thru. would not of been able to do it without your help.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top