Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: Why is Dream TV

  1. #1
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Down the road
    Posts
    203
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Why is Dream TV


    Why has Dream TV been breaking up around mid-day, everyday, for quite some time now, but comes in pretty well the rest of the time?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mellow View Post
    Why has Dream TV been breaking up around mid-day, everyday, for quite some time now, but comes in pretty well the rest of the time?
    What sie/type of dish do you have as the answer almost certainly is to be found in your reply.?

  3. #3
    Banned Member Expert
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Coast of Ionian Sea
    Posts
    1,040
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mellow
    breaking up around mid-day, everyday, for quite some time now
    nothing like that in here
    No GUTS!No GLORY!
    .

  4. #4
    SATELLITE GURU Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bletchley Park Code Breaking Lab
    Posts
    2,521
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    All fine here on my 1.8m solid in a 56 eirp....
    If Evolution works, why so many idiots?


  5. #5
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by irdeto2engineer View Post
    All fine here on my 1.8m solid in a 56 eirp....
    Ditto here in Bankok ten times the distance from Manila

  6. #6
    SATELLITE GURU Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bletchley Park Code Breaking Lab
    Posts
    2,521
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C-BAND View Post
    Ditto here in Bankok ten times the distance from Manila


    Miles: 1368 Manila to Bangkok

    Miles 731 Manila to Taipei

    hmmmm ten times the distance eh? somebody needs to do a bit of geography
    If Evolution works, why so many idiots?


  7. #7
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Down the road
    Posts
    203
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Dynasat Dish about 6-7ft. across , mesh type. Everyday around mid-day its starts breaking up, then its fine the rest of the time.Location in Issan.

  8. #8
    SATELLITE GURU Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bletchley Park Code Breaking Lab
    Posts
    2,521
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mellow View Post
    Dynasat Dish about 6-7ft. across , mesh type. Everyday around mid-day its starts breaking up, then its fine the rest of the time.Location in Issan.
    Of course it's breaking up...... MESH is for CBAND

    Dream TV is KU band so get a SOLID dish.
    If Evolution works, why so many idiots?


  9. #9
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Down the road
    Posts
    203
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Haven't had this problem before and been watching it for a couple of years. Only for about the last month.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by irdeto2engineer View Post
    Miles: 1368 Manila to Bangkok

    Miles 731 Manila to Taipei

    hmmmm ten times the distance eh? somebody needs to do a bit of geography
    ..................................
    Correct .IR2 but Philippines (Bataan) to Taiwan over the Luzon Straits is only 100 miles ...could almost swim across. so ten times the distance between the two countries is spot on ....and do we know where they uplink

  11. #11
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    21.95° N 97.06° E
    Posts
    6,263
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Dear bro.Mellow , I think it's depend on ur location and dish size / configuration. It's working fine here.


    Regards.
    " 李俊明 Born To Help People "

    DM 500s , Pacific 3600 CI , Humax F2 Finder , Angel Box , My Dream Machine , Tatasky , KAON , Topfield 3030 , Yuri YR1Dap , Dynasat 7100 , F1 , Plus and II , Metabox II , 10 , Viva Vs 9000 , SkyBox II , X-Sat 430 , 420 , Bolt N2 , NewB , New Shine Ns 3000 , Victory V 889 , F1 Newshine , New Star , Innovia 3088 CA , Atom 7000 , PBI , Prosat , Dstv 3Q76 , GA 88a , Tatasky , Big Tv , Airtel .



  12. #12
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by irdeto2engineer View Post
    Of course it's breaking up...... MESH is for CBAND

    Dream TV is KU band so get a SOLID dish.
    Sorry but IR2 is correct in the main. If you are using a suitable mesh you have to at least double up on the dish size if signal is marginal. Bob Cooper the expert in NZ will tell you that. Read Satfacts.
    Also. it is generally accepted that offset solid where available is best.
    For Isan a 1.2 M offset is the minimum size....a 1.5m offset acceptable and a 1.8 offset ideal....for 24/7 viewing

  13. #13
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C-BAND View Post
    ...and do we know where they uplink
    it's somewhere in Subic, with backup NOC at Zamboanga.

    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  14. #14
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    128
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    mellow, as i am ( i think) in the most bad part of issaan concerning reception, i am surprised you even get signal with this small dish, i have a 10ft mesh dynasat dish and get reception good enough, only have problem when heavy rain,signal gone...( no problems now)
    maybe changing to a bigger dish is adviced, mesh or solid not really much difference, i experimented allready with a solid dish of 1.80m , not really signal improvement ( here) , signal also gone with very bad weather...., maybe a solid from 2m or more will do the job?, but than the 10ft dish does the job ok and you can look c-band & ku band......
    good luck, pat....

  15. #15
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Down the road
    Posts
    203
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    This dish measures about 7 meters in diameter, I did measure once before and posted on here with these measurements , then I was told that I should be measuring across the center of the dish which I recall is about 6 or 7 Ft cause I was also told that I should not measure in meters, and my lack of high school math skills where brought into question. Geometry math skills which I haven't needed to use since learned 40 years ago.
    I have 2 LNB's KU and C-band which previously give me a wide range of Satellites to view including Measat's Astro and Dream TV on Agilla. My first problem started when Dynasat fell into disfavor with the powers to be, when I lost pretty much everything and had to start putting in keys manually. I was then able to watch Dream once more with a decent reception and no break up except when raining. This was all with the same mesh dish I am still using today along with the the Angelbox which I originally purchased for the dish. So what everyone seems to be telling me is that now all of a sudden I need a solid dish even though as stated from the beginning this dish has been working just fine and I have only been having this problem for about a month, yet I have been watching Dream TV with the same dish for 2-3 years.
    This is not a new installation nor something that did not work fine before. It is a new problem.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top