Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 37
  1. #1
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    149
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default How to Connect more than 4 LNB's to a DISCEQ??

    Hi

    Can any1 tell me how to connect more than 4 LNB's with a DISCEQ as only 4 can b connected atm and in the STB also i can select not more than 4 LNB.

    Regards
    Satpal

  2. #2
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    riyadh
    Posts
    16
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    here is the link for your question:
    http://www.rdi-board.com/showthread....768#post383768

  3. #3
    Banned Member Expert
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Coast of Ionian Sea
    Posts
    1,040
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    i think this image does not need any explanation.............

    No GUTS!No GLORY!
    .

  4. #4
    SATELLITE GURU Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bletchley Park Code Breaking Lab
    Posts
    2,521
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by satpal123 View Post
    Hi

    Can any1 tell me how to connect more than 4 LNB's with a DISCEQ as only 4 can b connected atm and in the STB also i can select not more than 4 LNB.

    Regards
    Satpal

    Get a multiswitch 4 horizontal 4 vertical in to 12 receivers out

    If Evolution works, why so many idiots?


  5. #5
    Banned Member Expert
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Coast of Ionian Sea
    Posts
    1,040
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ******2engineer View Post
    Get a multiswitch 4 horizontal 4 vertical in to 12 receivers out
    the only disadvantage w/ this multiswitch..........

    it is used for indoors coz of the AC power source. you need to lay out lots of cables from your satellite dishes going down from the rooftop and to this multiswitch....

    so, you need more cables... lots of cables, em i right?!.
    No GUTS!No GLORY!
    .

  6. #6
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    158
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    hello Zoren, it is a good diagram. now please tell us, the right instrument is diseqc switch while the left one says combo switch, is it the same thing as a diseqc switch? then how to configure this additioanl switch and 7 lnbs in the receiver because there is provision in the receiver only for 4 lnbs? thanks for the knowledge you are sharing.

  7. #7
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    it is the same as a disecq switch only the protocols are different. others will switch to voltage or 22khz pulses issued from your receiver.

    i'd still say, go for the multiswitch.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  8. #8
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    158
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    thank you boknoy

  9. #9
    SATELLITE GURU Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bletchley Park Code Breaking Lab
    Posts
    2,521
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zoren View Post
    the only disadvantage w/ this multiswitch..........

    it is used for indoors coz of the AC power source. you need to lay out lots of cables from your satellite dishes going down from the rooftop and to this multiswitch....

    so, you need more cables... lots of cables, em i right?!.
    Even if I was using the diagram above I would run cables to where the diseqc switches would be protected from the weather, especially rain.

    I have one customer with dishes on Intelsat 10 (V) Agila2 (H) AS2 ( H & V ) & AS3 ( H & V ) fed to nine receivers.

    His dishes are about 100m away from the switch on his estate and the closest receiver to the swtich is about 10m ( the others about 20m - 30m away ) but 3 are a further 100m away. The switch powers your lnb's so you dont need amplifiers in the system.

    Of course if you want to have more than 4 lnb's why not allow for having multiple decoders being able to watch all the satellites. You can get 4 in 4 out switches or 8 in 8 out but if you have 22khz for 9750 / 10600 universal lnb's you need a multiswitch that can detect universal lnb's.

    Zoren's system above is good if you only want one receiver. Most people I know nowadays want more more more lol

    At another location I run Intelsat 10 witha 2.4m dish with a Microwave filtered LNB ( V ) and a 3m prime focus with a Fuji Universal LNB KU on Thaicom5 H into one of these switches feeding 12 receivers.

    Two cables in to 12 receivers. Makes a lot of sense. Dishes are on 15th floor of building and customer is on 1st floor.
    If Evolution works, why so many idiots?


  10. #10
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    For Receivers With Disecq 1.1 Or Disecq 2.0 Ie Dreambox & Topfield
    No Problem With 8,16,32 64 128 Lnb/dishes !
    As We All Know The Answer Is The 420f Spaun Switch .

    If No 1.1 , There Is Another Switch For 8 Lnb's Not Sold Even In Dubai Made In Czech Republic The Emp Switch That Works With The Disecq 1.2 Go To Function.

    Finally The Obvious And Cheapest If Your Receiver Has A 0/12v Function........the 0/12 Switch

    All These Switches Are Sold In Germany / Via Online Mail Order

    Nb Dont Try The 0/22 Khz Switch......does Not Work Well With A 4 Port Diseqc Switch .

  11. #11
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    149
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Talking Thanxx

    Thanks a lot my friends..i hope now i can connect more dishes hehe

  12. #12
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    436
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C-BAND View Post
    For Receivers With Disecq 1.1 Or Disecq 2.0 Ie Dreambox & Topfield
    No Problem With 8,16,32 64 128 Lnb/dishes !
    As We All Know The Answer Is The 420f Spaun Switch .

    If No 1.1 , There Is Another Switch For 8 Lnb's Not Sold Even In Dubai Made In Czech Republic The Emp Switch That Works With The Disecq 1.2 Go To Function.

    Finally The Obvious And Cheapest If Your Receiver Has A 0/12v Function........the 0/12 Switch

    All These Switches Are Sold In Germany / Via Online Mail Order

    Nb Dont Try The 0/22 Khz Switch......does Not Work Well With A 4 Port Diseqc Switch .
    ABSOLUTELY CORRECT C BAND.
    the 420f Spaun Switch will work with any cheap or expensive diseqc switch or a mix of any diseqc switch. u can connect up to 256 lnb's.

    And the other options in ur reply r also top advise

  13. #13
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    you can use a manual 22khz tone switch if you want, works well with those cheap 4in1out disecqs.

    and contrary to zoren's post, we keep the multiswitch here on top of the building, exposed to the heat of the middle east but under the roof for protection from getting wet. so if you can nicely keep it somewhere up but not really inside your house, and with pretty good cabling ability, you should be fine.

    spaun is expensive, there are chinese made products more than half the price of a spaun.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  14. #14
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Behind Thor
    Posts
    284
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Talking

    The best option and also the cheapest is the EMP 8 in switch for the dish if you have a diseqc 1.00 and 1.1 receiver just configure it in the menu, if no 1.1 get a johassen 1.1 splitter switch with 1.1 signal out and put it in the line from the receiver and make the settings you require it gives you 4 committed and 4 uncommitted from a 4 position diseqc 1.00 receiver , hey presto 8 lnbs on 1 cable to receiver for Ł30!
    Cheers
    Fred.

  15. #15
    Banned Member Expert
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Coast of Ionian Sea
    Posts
    1,040
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by shakil View Post
    hello Zoren, it is a good diagram. now please tell us, the right instrument is diseqc switch while the left one says combo switch, is it the same thing as a diseqc switch? then how to configure this additioanl switch and 7 lnbs in the receiver because there is provision in the receiver only for 4 lnbs? thanks for the knowledge you are sharing.
    as suggested by the real experts b_ph, I2E and c-band,
    multiswitch is really good on many receivers to work at the same time.....

    on-the-other-hand, if you are a "lone" user and needs only one receiver......

    No GUTS!No GLORY!
    .

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top