Norway launches first phase of DTT service
Saturday, September 1st, 2007

Norway’s new digital television distribution network the so-called “ground net”, opens today. Rogaland is the first region to go digital. The network, RiksTV, is operated by Norges Televisjon (NTV), which is owned by Telenor, NRK and TV 2. A decoder is required for reception.

Oestfold, Oslo, Akershus, Buskerud, Vestfold, Telemark, Hordaland, Moere og Romsdal, Sogn og Fjordane, Hedmark, Oppland and Soer-Troendelag will all be covered by the new network by the end of this year. In Aust-Agder, Vest-Agder, Nord-Troendelag, Nordland, Troms and Finnmark the network opens in 2008.

The analogue network will be switched off six months after the new network opens in each region, ending with Finnmark in November 2009.

(Source: NRK)