Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    56
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Strong Satellite receiver - srt4652


    Dear Members,

    I have (Strong Satellite receiver) srt4652. It is doing fine. Initially it had the following system info;

    Model: SRT 4652
    S/W Version: 1.54p (August 19, 2006)
    H/W Version: 2.50 (0b:13)
    CH Version: August 16, 2006

    Through Strong website I found Software update for the machine. I downloaded it and followed instruction to update. I ended up getting this;

    Model: SRT 4652
    S/W Version: 1.30 (July 03, 2007)
    H/W Version: 1.11
    Boot version: 2.50(0b:13)
    CH Version: A014

    My receiver seem to be downgraded, though S/W version have a newer date. I can't access some of the features which were there before upgrade.

    Please kindly assist where to get the newest software or my former stb file which I believe is better than the latter.


    Mbalase

    Dar Es Salaam - Tanzania

  2. #2
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

  3. #3
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    you cannot downgrade a hardware with a simple software patch.

    if it ain't broken.... DON'T FIX IT!
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  4. #4
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    56
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Strong Satellite receiver - srt4652

    Dear Cogil,

    Your link took me to SRT 5390 PVR software, which I think might be incompatible with my receiver. Within the same site there is software for srt 4652. That is the one which brought me the current problem.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    56
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Dear Members,

    After working, for almost the whole day on this problem! I'm happy to inform you that I have finally solved the problem using the file below;

    Finding such a file in the web is a little bit tedious.

    SRT4652AU_132p_20060901.stb

    Lets keep on looking for the newest version of the above file.

    Thanks for all who responded to my post.

  6. #6
    Banned Member Expert
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Coast of Ionian Sea
    Posts
    1,040
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    you are actually on the right track when you upgraded your receiver's s/w but there is a minor s/w flaws with this receiver.

    SRT4653, 4655, 4657 s/w's are basically the same w/ 4652 w/regards on s/w patch. in your case, s/w V1.30 (July 03, 2007) actually did not upgrade everything. like i said thats your s/w version "flaws". what you should do is try and find the s/w that will likely to match your receiver and older version of s/w usually works better w/ these newer s/w patch...

    maybe you can still find something useful here: http://www.strong-technologies.com/frmDownloads.aspx.
    No GUTS!No GLORY!
    .

  7. #7
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    version name or hardware name is irrelevant in most cases. what's important is that your box is working. the coder can make it appear to any date or revision he likes. but if you are that troubled, then go back to the links posted by Zoren and Cogil and upload the official patch to your receiver. you may lose emulation and end up with an FTA.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  8. #8
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mbalase View Post
    Dear Cogil,

    Your link took me to SRT 5390 PVR software, which I think might be incompatible with my receiver. Within the same site there is software for srt 4652. That is the one which brought me the current problem.
    sorry but,
    i used the word try
    mine worked on it though.
    Also noticed strong will not accept the wrong software
    right from start, they might differ in some features, but when
    you revert back to old (original) its same as before.

  9. #9
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    his problem is the DISPLAY of the software version. wtf is wrong with that? it can display version 0 or even made to state (premanufacturing version) for the world to care as long as the software works! hexedit the file version if you want it to display whatever you want.

    maybe he has that itch to always look at the software version every 5 minutes or so.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  10. #10
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    56
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Strong Satellite receiver - srt4652

    Quote Originally Posted by boknoy_ph View Post
    his problem is the DISPLAY of the software version. wtf is wrong with that? it can display version 0 or even made to state (premanufacturing version) for the world to care as long as the software works! hexedit the file version if you want it to display whatever you want.
    Quote Originally Posted by boknoy_ph View Post

    maybe he has that itch to always look at the software version every 5 minutes or so.


    I 'm worried my problem was not seen to the bottom of the limpid pond by some members. Later, today I will give detailed explanation to what transpired. And probably this will help our friend to respond prominently if a need be.

    In the same post, I will give more information regarding the receiver as few minutes ago, I received newer version of the file.

  11. #11
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    as i have stated in my previous post, the hardware version being displayed by your software is irrelevant. to wit: no software can modify a hardware! to downgrade a hardware means physically replacing it. as has been mentioned by Zoren, it is a minor software flaw in the box itself.

    if your box is working fine and dandy, why bother what version number is displayed by the software?

    but yeah.... go on flashing your box until you find a software that displays the version to your liking.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  12. #12
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    56
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Strong Satellite receiver - srt4652

    Quote Originally Posted by boknoy_ph View Post
    no software can modify a hardware! to downgrade a hardware means physically replacing it.
    Quote Originally Posted by boknoy_ph View Post

    if your box is working fine and dandy, why bother what version number is displayed by the software?

    but yeah.... go on flashing your box until you find a software that displays the version to your liking.


    Downgrade can mean several things. Not necessarily hardware as you keeps on appraising


  13. #13
    canine consultant Expert
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    over the Hill, and down the road
    Posts
    1,318
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Unfortunately, this is a big problem with software downloads, we hear this time and time again, ***** please supply latest software for ***** and I ask the same question every time,, Why change something that is working perfectly, does what you want it to do, and your conversant with the program's working's . In short, "IF it ain't broke, don't fix it. And for some strange reason people always want the latest, regardless of what it may or may-not do.
    Also people don't seem to release , that there is always a small risk to installing new software, even in a perfect world, things have a habit of
    going arse-up.
    regards from OZ bassett

  14. #14
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mbalase View Post

    Downgrade can mean several things. Not necessarily hardware as you keeps on appraising

    learn to appreciate when you are helped,
    it comes in many ways, but such experienced
    members, however rude they know what they
    are telling you is right, they may have tried B4.

  15. #15
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by mbalase View Post
    I have (Strong Satellite receiver) srt4652. It is doing fine.
    My receiver seem to be downgraded, though S/W version have a newer date.
    downgraded in what? software and hardware version info? as i mentioned, you can have the software and hardware version info to display to whatever you want. and some of the functions you mentioned must have been disabled to make space on the memory for the emulation to work.

    anyway, we are going around in circles, lol.

    have a nice day.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top