Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 36
  1. #1
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    836
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Can I convert My Solid Sheet Prime focus Antena to Offset Antenna.


    I have a 6 Feet Solid Prime focus Dish Antenna can I convert it into Ku Band OffSet Antenna.
    Tell me the Length of the Rod Used for Offset Antenna.

  2. #2
    SATELLITE GURU Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bletchley Park Code Breaking Lab
    Posts
    2,521
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bangalore View Post
    I have a 6 Feet Solid Prime focus Dish Antenna can I convert it into Ku Band OffSet Antenna.
    Tell me the Length of the Rod Used for Offset Antenna.
    You can use any solid dish for KU band just buy a ku band lnb for pirme focus dish.

    You could try bending the dish but that will fuck it completely lol.
    If Evolution works, why so many idiots?


  3. #3
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    836
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ******2engineer View Post
    You can use any solid dish for KU band just buy a ku band lnb for pirme focus dish.

    You could try bending the dish but that will fuck it completely lol.

    Is KU band LNB for Prime focus Dish different from simple KU Band LNB.

    I have a Dish Tv LNB will it work for me..

  4. #4
    SATELLITE GURU Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bletchley Park Code Breaking Lab
    Posts
    2,521
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bangalore View Post
    Is KU band LNB for Prime focus Dish different from simple KU Band LNB.

    I have a Dish Tv LNB will it work for me..
    Prime focus LNB's are different than the ones used for offset dishes.

    Just ask any satellite shop or your satellite installed they should have them as they are commonplace.
    If Evolution works, why so many idiots?


  5. #5
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    836
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ******2engineer View Post
    Prime focus LNB's are different than the ones used for offset dishes.

    Just ask any satellite shop or your satellite installed they should have them as they are commonplace.
    Can You share Me a Photograph of the LNB... or some link where I can see thet LNB

  6. #6
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    28
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    I think these are the photos of prime focus LNBF (but not sure, experts can confirm?)





    I think the visual difference must be where the cable connects, top for prime focus and side for offset. Though as Ird*Engineer has said if you ask the shop they should have?
    Last edited by lank22; 9th July 2007 at 15:27.

  7. #7
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    836
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lank22 View Post
    I think these are the photos of prime focus LNBF (but not sure, experts can confirm?)





    I think the visual difference must be where the cable connects, top for prime focus and side for offset. Though as Ird*Engineer has said if you ask the shop they should have?


    So according to you if I use this LNBF with my solid sheet 6 feet Antenna.
    By Using this LNB I can convert my Primefocus Antenna into KU band 6 feet Antenna ?.

  8. #8
    Banned Member Expert
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Coast of Ionian Sea
    Posts
    1,040
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    offset/prime focus, you can use both type of lnb and vise versa. you can experiment on it and see if you can get what you really want. i can tell you i've done this settings i don't see any difference coz my receiver is showing 98% signal level and quality. offset lnb or prime focus lnb doesn't make any difference IMO.

    "maybe optimus prime will make a difference"
    No GUTS!No GLORY!
    .

  9. #9
    Silver Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    2,090
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bangalore View Post
    So according to you if I use this LNBF with my solid sheet 6 feet Antenna.
    By Using this LNB I can convert my Primefocus Antenna into KU band 6 feet Antenna ?.
    Yes if you put ku prime focus lnb for your 6 feet dish then it would act like a 6 feet ku dish. There are prime focus lnbs available in the market. Yuri has Ku + C combined prime focus lnbs are also available.

  10. #10
    Silver Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    2,090
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zoren View Post
    offset/prime focus, you can use both type of lnb and vise versa. you can experiment on it and see if you can get what you really want. i can tell you i've done this settings i don't see any difference coz my receiver is showing 98% signal level and quality. offset lnb or prime focus lnb doesn't make any difference IMO.

    "maybe optimus prime will make a difference"
    May be your are using a big dish to receive those Ku signals than needed. In place of 60cms you might be using 160cms prime focus dish. In those cases you will get full signal. But in other cases we loose a lot of signals if the F/D ratio doesn't match.

  11. #11
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    836
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lnb15k View Post
    May be your are using a big dish to receive those Ku signals than needed.

    In place of 60cms you might be using 160cms prime focus dish. In those cases you will get full signal. But in other cases we loose a lot of signals if the F/D ratio doesn't match.

    In India only 120 CM Offset Dishes are available in Bangalore also situation is the Same so I am planning to Use my Primefocus Antenna for Ku band also as I Want to receive Experess or Yamal Ku signal in Bangalore Lets see I am succesfull or Not

  12. #12
    Silver Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    2,090
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Yamal 90E or AM2 80E might be difficult but you will be successful on other satellites. All the best

    Bigger dishes are also available even 12 feet offset dishes are available but they are costly.

  13. #13
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    28
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bangalore View Post
    So according to you if I use this LNBF with my solid sheet 6 feet Antenna.
    By Using this LNB I can convert my Primefocus Antenna into KU band 6 feet Antenna ?.
    Technically you won't be converting the dish into anything.. rather, by using a prime focus KU LNB you would receive the maximum amount of the signal collected by the dish. I guess you can use a normal KU LNB designed for an offset dish, but you'd loose some of the signal?
    Last edited by lank22; 9th July 2007 at 17:15.

  14. #14
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    28
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    By the way: Is it possible to receive a C band satellite using a normal C Band LNB fixed to a offset KU dish?

    Am asking because I have a spare KU dish which is reasonably large and I was hoping maybe I could receive PAS 7 C Band.

  15. #15
    SATELLITE GURU Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bletchley Park Code Breaking Lab
    Posts
    2,521
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by lank22 View Post
    By the way: Is it possible to receive a C band satellite using a normal C Band LNB fixed to a offset KU dish?

    Am asking because I have a spare KU dish which is reasonably large and I was hoping maybe I could receive PAS 7 C Band.
    Well there is no Cband on PAS7 as that is KU band. However there is at the same location PAS 10 Cband but it now known as Intelsat10 68.5E

    A Cband lnb on a KU band offset dish will suffer a loss of signal.
    If Evolution works, why so many idiots?


 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top