Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Difficult Signal For Thailand


    Who In SE Asia can pick up a signal strong enough to lock on :
    Sinosat Ku , Telstar 18 Ku And Telstar 10 Ku ?
    If you can please tell us where you are located, type size of dish and lnb.
    Many Thanks.

    [yes our Rdi member Daeng in the North of Thailand can as his screen shots prove....but can anyone else ...especially in the Bangkok/Pattaya region ?]

  2. #2
    SATELLITE GURU Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bletchley Park Code Breaking Lab
    Posts
    2,521
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C-BAND View Post
    Who In SE Asia can pick up a signal strong enough to lock on :
    Sinosat Ku , Telstar 18 Ku And Telstar 10 Ku ?
    If you can please tell us where you are located, type size of dish and lnb.
    Many Thanks.

    [yes our Rdi member Daeng in the North of Thailand can as his screen shots prove....but can anyone else ...especially in the Bangkok/Pattaya region ?]

    All fine for me in Taiwan as these beams cover my small island here
    If Evolution works, why so many idiots?


  3. #3
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    436
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C-BAND View Post
    Who In SE Asia can pick up a signal strong enough to lock on :
    Sinosat Ku , Telstar 18 Ku And Telstar 10 Ku ?
    If you can please tell us where you are located, type size of dish and lnb.
    Many Thanks.

    [yes our Rdi member Daeng in the North of Thailand can as his screen shots prove....but can anyone else ...especially in the Bangkok/Pattaya region ?]


    during rain i lose the signal

  4. #4
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    98.98 East 18.56 north
    Posts
    1,201
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C-BAND View Post
    Who In SE Asia can pick up a signal strong enough to lock on :
    Sinosat Ku , Telstar 18 Ku And Telstar 10 Ku ?
    If you can please tell us where you are located, type size of dish and lnb.
    Many Thanks.

    [yes our Rdi member Daeng in the North of Thailand can as his screen shots prove....but can anyone else ...especially in the Bangkok/Pattaya region ?]
    the strongest Singnal you have on Sinosat this you can get in Bangkok with 10ft Dish (Mesh) Telstar 18 KU i think only with 12ft fix Offset not Mesh
    all Channel are now FTA from D-sky ex. the Adult Channel


    ¨
    Daeng

    10FT Dish 169° east-49°east

  5. #5
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daeng View Post
    the strongest Singnal you have on Sinosat this you can get in Bangkok with 10ft Dish (Mesh) Telstar 18 KU i think only with 12ft fix Offset not Mesh
    all Channel are now FTA from D-sky ex. the Adult Channel


    ¨
    Thanks Daeng of course you are nearer to China up there than us in BKK ....So it seems Ill be in for 50,000 Bt or US $1500 as thats the cost of a solid 4.2 meter dish.....prime focus as I have never read of an offset larger than 1.8M. Satthai actually sells these (mainly for Tata Sky) as I mentioned to them about large dishes being unavailable in Thailand.
    Satfacts Bob Cooper wrote about a Chinese Co doing a quality 7 meter dish really cheap . The price however triples if you only order one and the shipping cost was horrendous . I gave the Co name to Satthai.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Important Fact About Dreambox ?

    Quote Originally Posted by wombat View Post


    during rain i lose the signal
    WOW...Did not even know Disney was on Telstar 10 ku ! The only Disney mentioned on Lyngsat Telstar 10 list was a C band Powervu channel
    As mentioned I will buy a .2 INVACOM or INVERTO C120 with feedhorn and slap it properly focussed in the middle of the 12 footer and see what happens and as the Brits say...keep my fingers crossed !
    As for skew they now have a fitting on the special feedhorn facilitating easy hand adjustment .
    NOW A NEW AND VERY IMPORTANT POINT FOR DREAMBOX 500 S OWNERS

    On your screen shot it shows signal quality of 67 percent !
    Well with mine, a Chinese clone which most of us in Asia have, the importer and dealer and technician CLEARLY STATED no lock below 79 percent !
    And this was true ! Now you have AN ORIGINAL , right ?
    So there is the first GOOD reason to chose an original not a clone ! The original has a better tuner so will lock on at 67 percent. The clone needs 79 percent to lock on.
    Is this hypothesis true ?

  7. #7
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    98.98 East 18.56 north
    Posts
    1,201
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C-BAND View Post
    Thanks Daeng of course you are nearer to China up there than us in BKK ....So it seems Ill be in for 50,000 Bt or US $1500 as thats the cost of a solid 4.2 meter dish.....prime focus as I have never read of an offset larger than 1.8M. Satthai actually sells these (mainly for Tata Sky) as I mentioned to them about large dishes being unavailable in Thailand.
    Satfacts Bob Cooper wrote about a Chinese Co doing a quality 7 meter dish really cheap . The price however triples if you only order one and the shipping cost was horrendous . I gave the Co name to Satthai.

    hmmm
    only 1.8 meter for Insat 83° KU-Band
    Daeng

    10FT Dish 169° east-49°east

  8. #8
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daeng View Post
    hmmm
    only 1.8 meter for Insat 83° KU-Band
    Well he has dozens of Tata Sky receivers for sale so why should he lie !
    I saw the Tatasky demo he had working with a 3.6 meter prime focus ...a really good bouquet by the way with lots of progs for the kids.....
    the picture disappeared at times . K.Pornchai said he would not recommend a 3.6 meter dish for 24/7 Tatasky viewing (in Bangkok). And he had them for sale

  9. #9
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    436
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C-BAND View Post
    WOW...Did not even know Disney was on Telstar 10 ku ! The only Disney mentioned on Lyngsat Telstar 10 list was a C band Powervu channel
    As mentioned I will buy a .2 INVACOM or INVERTO C120 with feedhorn and slap it properly focussed in the middle of the 12 footer and see what happens and as the Brits say...keep my fingers crossed !
    As for skew they now have a fitting on the special feedhorn facilitating easy hand adjustment .
    NOW A NEW AND VERY IMPORTANT POINT FOR DREAMBOX 500 S OWNERS

    On your screen shot it shows signal quality of 67 percent !
    Well with mine, a Chinese clone which most of us in Asia have, the importer and dealer and technician CLEARLY STATED no lock below 79 percent !
    And this was true ! Now you have AN ORIGINAL , right ?
    So there is the first GOOD reason to chose an original not a clone ! The original has a better tuner so will lock on at 67 percent. The clone needs 79 percent to lock on.
    Is this hypothesis true ?

    As u know i have my box from a company in bangkok. so i doubt that its a original and as far as i know its the same company as yours. i didnt have the time yet 2 to check if its original. I also remember someone advising u i a thread a while ago that ur box is probably faulty although the company tells u its ok. if they think its ok they shud have no problem swapping it


  10. #10
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    873
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C-BAND View Post
    Thanks Daeng of course you are nearer to China up there than us in BKK ....So it seems Ill be in for 50,000 Bt or US $1500 as thats the cost of a solid 4.2 meter dish.....prime focus as I have never read of an offset larger than 1.8M. Satthai actually sells these (mainly for Tata Sky) as I mentioned to them about large dishes being unavailable in Thailand.
    Satfacts Bob Cooper wrote about a Chinese Co doing a quality 7 meter dish really cheap . The price however triples if you only order one and the shipping cost was horrendous . I gave the Co name to Satthai.
    50'000 bt Oh dear

    Im sure there are dealers selling much cheaper than that
    Maybe u should ask around phuket


  11. #11
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PhuketSatellite View Post
    50'000 bt Oh dear

    Im sure there are dealers selling much cheaper than that
    Maybe u should ask around phuket

    As mentioned only one Co in Thailand imports/sells solid dishes larger than 1.8 meter and that's Satthai/Pinphone ! Even INFOSAT sells no larger than 1.5M.
    50,000 baht for a 4.2 solid is CHEAP.
    See what Satellite Superstore in the UK charges for a quality 2.4 meter solid inc. lnb
    Ł2675.00......$5,300

  12. #12
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    WOMBAT WROTE
    As u know i have my box from a company in bangkok. so i doubt that its a original and as far as i know its the same company as yours. i didnt have the time yet 2 to check if its original. I also remember someone advising u i a thread a while ago that ur box is probably faulty although the company tells u its ok. if they think its ok they shud have no problem swapping it

    I repeat the technician stated when selling the boxes :
    " You need a strong signal as at less than 79 percent signal quality and signal strength. our DM does not lock "
    I found the technician's statement to be true with my box. So how can I complain or swap a box that only does what they said it would ?
    Perhaps you are fortunate and its your box that's the exception because it has a different and better tuner ?
    Anybody else care to report if their DM box will lock at 69 percent as Wombat's does. How about yours Alexius ...will it lock on a transponder and store it at below 79 percent quality and signal strength ?

  13. #13
    canine consultant Expert
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    over the Hill, and down the road
    Posts
    1,318
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C-BAND View Post
    So it seems Ill be in for 50,000 Bt or US $1500 as thats the cost of a solid 4.2 meter dish.....prime focus as I have never read of an offset larger than 1.8M.
    You will not find large Off-set dishes in this part of the world, But in Northern Europe and Canada, Alsaka. Reason is, the weather, consider the weight factor of a 3 meter dish, with 12 inches of snow on the thing, or a dish pointed skywards full of snow. So they use off-set dishes, which also have heaters fitted, in some cases, and the snow simply slids of or melts before it gets a chance to collect.
    regards from OZ bassett

  14. #14
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    873
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C-BAND View Post
    As mentioned only one Co in Thailand imports/sells solid dishes larger than 1.8 meter and that's Satthai/Pinphone ! Even INFOSAT sells no larger than 1.5M.
    50,000 baht for a 4.2 solid is CHEAP.
    See what Satellite Superstore in the UK charges for a quality 2.4 meter solid inc. lnb
    Ł2675.00......$5,300
    R U SURE about that

    I can beat that price


  15. #15
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by PhuketSatellite View Post
    R U SURE about that

    I can beat that price

    Not on the ELECTRONICS Direct website you don't !

    Pasted below is what you offer under sat dish : one item

    Offset 75 + 0.2db Silver Tech KU (good price)

    As mentioned only Satthai/Pinphone stock solid dishes larger than 1.8 meter .
    Many sat enthusiasts in Thailand would be delighted it you did in fact stock reasonably priced larger solid dishes but that won't be easy as you probably have to buy a container load from China to obtain a reasonable price.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top