Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Maseru, Lesotho
    Posts
    145
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Info Jtag STi5500


    Hi all,
    I have a STB Elstar model ZDX9111E, this has the STi5500 chipset, there is no RS232 port but I can see the Jtag port on the motherboard.
    Can anyone guide me on how to upgarde this receiver, it is standard FTA.
    Is there any other software/boot etc for this STB?

    Many thanks,

    Regards
    DM500S, FortecStar Alpha, Lifetime Ultra, Lifetime Classic:
    Intelsat 7/10, TelStar 12 and NSS 7

    Time spent on Reconnaissance is seldom wasted.

  2. #2
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Boknaaai View Post
    Hi all,
    I have a STB Elstar model ZDX9111E, this has the STi5500 chipset, there is no RS232 port but I can see the Jtag port on the motherboard.
    Can anyone guide me on how to upgarde this receiver, it is standard FTA.
    Is there any other software/boot etc for this STB?
    Many thanks,
    Regards
    if you need jtag join yans thread above on sticky, shure he will guide u, though i think u need software and the sti5500 chipset has no problem. maybe the problem is how to feed the softwareb without the rs 232 port.
    Dstv HD PVR

  3. #3
    Junior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Maseru, Lesotho
    Posts
    145
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    @ cogil
    Yes, I have joined Yan's Jtag section. He has done incredible work there, all the info is available with diagrams etc, I made my Jtag port with the 4 Led's, quite intersting to see the activity when reading or writing to the stb.

    I managed to read my stb, erase the flash and reprogram the flash back.

    The stb is old, 2002 and there is no updated soft/fim for it.

    I tried to Jtag the DSD660, it has a 10 pin port, it was very interesting ......
    a lot of smoke from the power supply.......disconnected the Jtag port in time to save the stb. Unit still working !
    Have the Pace DSR600 working on Botswana TV FTA

    Regards,
    DM500S, FortecStar Alpha, Lifetime Ultra, Lifetime Classic:
    Intelsat 7/10, TelStar 12 and NSS 7

    Time spent on Reconnaissance is seldom wasted.

  4. #4
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    sorry mate but for this smoke there must have been an error either on pin configuration, or the connections. am sure you are not willing a second try, neither am i
    Dstv HD PVR

  5. #5
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    21.95° N 97.06° E
    Posts
    6,263
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Hi Boknaaai, may be ur 10 pin configuration from ur motherboard is not for JTag'ing.That's while it smoke from ur power supply.


    Thanks.
    " 李俊明 Born To Help People "

    DM 500s , Pacific 3600 CI , Humax F2 Finder , Angel Box , My Dream Machine , Tatasky , KAON , Topfield 3030 , Yuri YR1Dap , Dynasat 7100 , F1 , Plus and II , Metabox II , 10 , Viva Vs 9000 , SkyBox II , X-Sat 430 , 420 , Bolt N2 , NewB , New Shine Ns 3000 , Victory V 889 , F1 Newshine , New Star , Innovia 3088 CA , Atom 7000 , PBI , Prosat , Dstv 3Q76 , GA 88a , Tatasky , Big Tv , Airtel .



  6. #6
    Junior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Maseru, Lesotho
    Posts
    145
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by yan naing View Post
    Hi Boknaaai, may be ur 10 pin configuration from ur motherboard is not for JTag'ing.That's while it smoke from ur power supply.


    Thanks.
    @ Cogil You are probably correct, but I will risk it again !
    @ Yan Very good point, maybe it's not the Jtag port, but strangely when I connect to it and turn on the stb, only three leds appear on the front panel, red, orange and green, NO Alpha Numeric indication like normal.
    If I remove Jtag plug then stb starts up normally.
    Will keep my posts in the Jtag section
    Thanks again for all your comprehensive documentation and information.

    Regards
    DM500S, FortecStar Alpha, Lifetime Ultra, Lifetime Classic:
    Intelsat 7/10, TelStar 12 and NSS 7

    Time spent on Reconnaissance is seldom wasted.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top