Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

Posts Thanks / Likes

Default Is Personal Dishes Illegal in UK

I am new in UK. I want to Install my own dish towards Hotbird, Pas 7/10 for Pakistani & European Chennals. Please Guide me it is not Illegal to install private dish as there is DTH system working in UK. Some of my friends told me it is Illegal to install a Dish for viewing FTA channels.

Moderator Expert
    Posts Thanks / Likes

Quote Originally Posted by nauman1 View Post
    I am new in UK. I want to Install my own dish towards Hotbird, Pas 7/10 for Pakistani & European Chennals. Please Guide me it is not Illegal to install private dish as there is DTH system working in UK. Some of my friends told me it is Illegal to install a Dish for viewing FTA channels.
    get more details about cbands post:

www.rdi-board.com/showthread.php?t=41343
    Dstv HD PVR

Junior Member Teacher

Posts Thanks / Likes

Default Uk Dish installation

dear friend,

Yes its illegal to install private dish in Uk unless you apply for a permit from the Information and brocasting agency.

Regards
    Morgan Gregory

Junior Member Friend

Posts Thanks / Likes

It is NOT illegal
    Despite what some town councils (& Sky UK) would like you to beleive.
    Size matters though ! (90CM is the legal limit i beleive)
    Most satellites (ku) viewable here can be seen with an 80cm so there shouldn't be a problem.
    So long as the dish is near 1 metre you should not have any problems.
    I use a 1metre (offset) and a 1.25metre (prime focus) both in the back garden, never had any complaints.