Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    677
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default rs232 to USB Help


    Hello
    Need drivers for rs232 to USB
    And process to install as mine does not work

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    187
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Driver

    everie usb adapter has or come with a cd or you have to know from wich manufacturer it is so you can find it on the manufacturer website

  3. #3
    Member Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    677
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Yeah,
    It came with a CD from Huge pine, & made in China, so far no luck with web support.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    187
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default usb adapter

    you have to see wich comport is free maybe there is also a problem sometime or you have to buy a better product that works than fine

  5. #5
    az30094
    Guest
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Default Re: rs232 to USB Help

    Quote Originally Posted by dom06
    Hello
    Need drivers for rs232 to USB
    And process to install as mine does not work

    Thanks in advance
    Hi dom!

    Did you mean RS232 to USB? Are you sure? I have not come across such a thing. It must be USB to RS232. Please check.

  6. #6
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    what happens when you install from CD? most usb-rs232 converters will install it on com port 4 or higher, so make sure which comport you are using by going to control panel/system/hardware/device manager/comports/properties/advanced and change according to your needs.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  7. #7
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    73
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default hi

    Hi dom06 .... check this link http://www.alsat.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=46948 it might help

  8. #8
    Member Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    677
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Yeah Boknoy,
    I did in fact configure the port & tried all the 4 ports available on the loader, it says connection OK with STB on one port but does not download bin file (sky1a STB)

    Appreciate all ur help

  9. #9
    Byte Stalker Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Planet Earth in Universe
    Posts
    939
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    this is really and ongoing problem, very few usb to rs232 converter works. its a timing issue, remember the speed difference on the two, & if the implementer scrimps on crutial parts it may or may not works on a specific laptops!
    ************************************
    The more we learn things the more we hunger for more! That's human nature I guess!

  10. #10
    Member Mentor
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    677
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    I use a null modem cable from my stb, which in turn is connected to the rs232 & then to the usb of my lap top, as the rs232 to usb has a male pin on the stb connection side, could this be the problem. Other people have also done this from posts on other forums.
    As per Pookiyakal's link
    Thanks Pookiyakal



    Pl advise

  11. #11
    Byte Stalker Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Planet Earth in Universe
    Posts
    939
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    its does not matter whether the rs232 has male or female connector, the pin configuration does not change, just use a gender changer to suits one's need!
    ************************************
    The more we learn things the more we hunger for more! That's human nature I guess!

  12. #12
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    73
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default is it ok now?


    Quote Originally Posted by dom06
    I use a null modem cable from my stb, which in turn is connected to the rs232 & then to the usb of my lap top, as the rs232 to usb has a male pin on the stb connection side, could this be the problem. Other people have also done this from posts on other forums.
    As per Pookiyakal's link
    Thanks Pookiyakal



    Pl advise
    Welcome m8 .... hope ur problem has been solved by now

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. RS232 en portatiles
    By sinnoflooder in forum RDI - Espańol
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th October 2006, 12:34
  2. Adaptor PCMCIA-RS232
    By hack2006 in forum RDI - Satelit
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th July 2006, 02:03
  3. USB la Serial(RS232)
    By emil67arro in forum RDI - Satelit
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd April 2006, 11:11
  4. New Guys (RS232 Connection)
    By sahi in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st September 2005, 19:45
  5. help for rs232 cable
    By jameel in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd July 2005, 09:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top