* Ninth edition of the awards for excellence in thematic broadcasting on Eutelsat satellites.

* Journalist Jury nominates 34 channels from 15 countries.

The nominations were announced today for the HOT BIRDô TV Awards , the annual event rewarding excellence in thematic satellite broadcasting supported by Eutelsat, Europe's largest satellite operator, in collaboration with Eurovisioni, SAT Expo, Variety and for the first time , the CasinÚ di Venezia.

The Awards are selected by an international jury of media journalists who met in Venice in September to view more than 100 thematic channels from 15 countries broadcasting through Eutelsat's satellites. The Journalist Jury drew up a shortlist of nominees for each thematic category, based on creativity, programme originality and production quality. Awards are also assigned by a Professional Jury and by the viewing public who can vote for their preferred thematic channel through leading industry websites..

The categories are Children, Cinema, Culture/Education, Documentaries, Fiction, Lifestyle, Music, News, Sport and National Window. This year 's HOT BIRDô TV Awards also includes for the first time a new High Definition category to mark the launch of Europe's first commercial HDTV channels.

Journalist Jury 2006 Nominations:

Al-Jazeera Children's Channel - Arabic
Boomerang - Italian
Eureka! TPS Jeunesse - French
Rai Sat Ragazzi - Italian

Ale Kino! - Polish
Kinowelt TV - German
Nashe Kino - Russian

Deutsche Welle - German
Rai Sat Nettuno 1, 2 - Italian
TVP Kultura - Polish

History Channel - Italian
Iz TV - Turkish
Planete - Polish
Cult - Italian
Fox Crime - Italian
Jimmy - Italian

High Definition
Next HD - Italian
Venice Channel - Italian

Euforia Lifestyle TV - Romanian
Leonardo - Italian
TV8 Mont-Blanc - French

CMC - Croatian
MTV Brand New - Italian
Video Italia - Italian

BBC World - English
EuroNews - English
Rai News 24 - Italian

ESPN Classic Sport - English
Eurosport and Eurosport 2 - French
LIG TV - Turkish
Sailing Channel - Italian
SKY Sport - Italian

National Window
Duna Televizio - Hungarian
RTVI Channel - Russian

The 2006 HOT BIRDô TV Awards ceremony will be held on Thursday 28 September at San Servolo island in Venice, coinciding with the 58th Prix Italia (Venice 24-30 September) and the opening of the XIII SATExpo (Vicenza 28-30 September).

The members of the 2006 Journalist Jury:
Victor Amela, La Vanguardia (Spain)
Imad Al Atrache, Al Jazeera (Qatar)
Jerzy Barski, TV-Sat Magazine (Poland)
Sergheij Buntman, Eco di Mosca (Russia)
Antonio Dipollina, La Repubblica (Italy)
Tugrul Eryilmaz, Milliyet Art Magazine (Turkey)
Daniel Psenny, Le Monde (France)
Patricia Wynn Davies, The Daily Telegraph (United Kingdom).
Journalist Jury co-ordinator: Duilio Giammaria, Tg1 Rai (Italy), with technical consultant Alberto Delli Ficorelli , Satellite (Italy).