Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    Senior Member Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    South India
    Posts
    1,090
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Dear ADMIN... Please help


    Dear Admin... please let me know how to search for some old thread post . I had tried it with the search link on top of this page... but much to no avail... I think this is the only thing that is being missed in the forum's website..

    I want to search for one thread regarding the South Indian satellites coverage... dont know in which page it is .. and I can't search all those pages.... Better if you can put the search link properly...

    the search should be such that we can searh for the thread with some word... I had seen other websites with this facility.. hope to find it soon... as I had not found it yet... if there then please let me know the procedure..

  2. #2
    Member Mentor
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    919
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    same query from my side too ..................

    I hope admin read this message ........

  3. #3
    Goin' Ape Expert
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Transylvania
    Posts
    1,864
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    I posted your question on a romanian topic ... maybe an admin reads romanian topics mre often

  4. #4
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    this is only an answer i got before, that once search engine is activated the forum will be clogged up, and there would be no access to the many people who log in at any one time, so it was found better left out but the forum goes on.
    may be adm. would answer you better. since search would really improve what to look for in references.
    Dstv HD PVR

  5. #5
    Senior Member Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    South India
    Posts
    1,090
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cogil
    this is only an answer i got before, that once search engine is activated the forum will be clogged up, and there would be no access to the many people who log in at any one time, so it was found better left out but the forum goes on.
    may be adm. would answer you better. since search would really improve what to look for in references.
    So.. the Admin wants New threads to be opened on the same topics instead of continuing in One thread.. Is this not going to increase the traffic and slow down the website because we had found many threads with same topic and so on...

  6. #6
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    let's just hope that the admins incorporate google search on RDI soon enough, lol.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  7. #7
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    i just hope this code gets incorporated on RDI so that we can use google search on RDI.

    <FORM method=GET action="http://www.google.com/search">
    <input type=hidden name=ie value=UTF-8>
    <input type=hidden name=oe value=UTF-8>
    <TABLE bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><tr><td>
    <A HREF="http://www.google.com/">
    </A>
    </td>
    <td>
    <INPUT TYPE=text name=q size=31 maxlength=255 value="">
    <INPUT type=submit name=btnG VALUE="Google Search">
    <font size=-1>
    <input type=hidden name=domains value="YOUR DOMAIN NAME">
    <input type=radio name=sitesearch value=""> WWW <input type=radio name=sitesearch value="YOUR DOMAIN NAME" checked> YOUR DOMAIN NAME

    </font>
    </td></tr></TABLE>
    </FORM>
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  8. #8
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    @boknoy
    as a very senior member of rdi, am sure you might have a way of just giving out your ideas practically to the rdi adm, in the end it would be a great idea and performance - to rdi forum.
    ********* is quite understanding, hopefully float the idea to him
    Dstv HD PVR

  9. #9
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    i already PM'ed ********* about this matter. let's just wait for the results.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  10. #10
    Moderator Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Africa-Kenya-Nbi
    Posts
    3,108
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    thanks for the good idea, hope all goes well and things move fast enuf
    Dstv HD PVR

  11. #11
    Gold Member Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lahore
    Posts
    3,718
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Reply from Admin on 5th April

    "The search is not working and i will make something about this but not quite right now. The search in its brute format loads the server so bad until it reaches a point where no regular client can be served.
    About the clones, again, is something i cannot fix. A lot of them are using clones but this is , if you want, the benefit of incognito internet surfing. This method has some good sides and some bad sides. "
    Fte Max 100S
    Humax IRCI-5400z
    Asiasat 3S,NSS 6,Insat 4B,Thaicom2/5,Intelsat7/10,HB 6/7A/8

  12. #12
    Senior Member Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    South India
    Posts
    1,090
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by masood
    Reply from Admin on 5th April

    "The search is not working and i will make something about this but not quite right now. The search in its brute format loads the server so bad until it reaches a point where no regular client can be served.
    About the clones, again, is something i cannot fix. A lot of them are using clones but this is , if you want, the benefit of incognito internet surfing. This method has some good sides and some bad sides. "
    For everything there will be Good Sides and Bad Sides......... one should follow what will be the Good side and should not think too much about Bad.. If by search option lot of people can be benefited then it should be given preference...

    I had seen many sites with that option in forums and none of them had that much problem..

  13. #13
    Gold Member Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lahore
    Posts
    3,718
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mj786
    For everything there will be Good Sides and Bad Sides......... one should follow what will be the Good side and should not think too much about Bad.. If by search option lot of people can be benefited then it should be given preference...
    I had seen many sites with that option in forums and none of them had that much problem..
    The Admin replied me of my second issue that was about clone IDs
    sorry for not editing the exact reply
    Fte Max 100S
    Humax IRCI-5400z
    Asiasat 3S,NSS 6,Insat 4B,Thaicom2/5,Intelsat7/10,HB 6/7A/8

  14. #14
    Senior Member Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    South India
    Posts
    1,090
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by masood
    Quote Originally Posted by mj786
    For everything there will be Good Sides and Bad Sides......... one should follow what will be the Good side and should not think too much about Bad.. If by search option lot of people can be benefited then it should be given preference...
    I had seen many sites with that option in forums and none of them had that much problem..
    The Admin replied me of my second issue that was about clone IDs
    sorry for not editing the exact reply

    OK.... anyhow i had posted the above for the Search option and not for clone or so ... I had read that the ADmin says that the site will slow down if they put search option.........

  15. #15
    Silver Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    2,090
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    Here is the link you were searching "Satellite available in South India"

    http://www.********.com/f2/viewtopic....er=asc&start=0

    Admin please add the search feature in the server as lot of other forums have search feature and they manage to run the servers. In what way forum is different from other? (Don't reply with "this forum dosn't have search feature " )

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. ADMIN.....................!!!!!
    By SAFETRON1 in forum DVD - DIVX - HIFI
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th October 2006, 08:44
  2. hi to admin
    By abdulsaboor in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd August 2006, 17:40
  3. ADMIN!
    By siti in forum RDI - Satelit
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th October 2005, 14:21
  4. TO All dear help
    By neamat in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th August 2005, 06:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top