Tanzania media authority receives 20 TV, radio licence applications
Text of report by Shermax Ngahemera entitled "20 apply for TV, radio stations" published by Tanzanian newspaper Daily News website on 30 May

Tanzania Communications Regulatory Authority (TCRA) has received 20 applications for FM radio and television stations in Tanzania mainland, it was learnt in Dar es Salaam yesterday.

TCRA director-general John Mkoma said that eight applicants were received from Dar es Salaam, three from Arusha, two each Kilimanjaro and Iringa and one each in five regions Mbeya, Mara, Mwanza, Morogoro and Singida. Prof Mkoma said 16 applications were for FM radio stations and four were for television stations.

He said TCRA has published names of the applicants. According to the law, anyone with objections should inform TCRA within 14 days after publication.

He said the applicants included eight business entities, three religious institutions, three individuals, two local councils, two communities, one higher learning institution and a conservation area (government).

Shadrack Clement Makombe, Philemon Ndesamburo and Selemani Iddi Selemani were individuals who have each applied for an FM radio station for Iringa and Moshi Municipalities and Dar es Salaam City, respectively.

The government requests to operate a radio station for Ngorongoro Area Conservation Authority while Muslim University of Morogoro has also applied for an FM radio.

Meanwhile, the head of the Bakwata, Mufti Issa Shaaban Simba, Sheikh Suleiman Mohamed Gorogosi, Yusuph Balanooy and Sheikh Suleiman Amrani Kilemela as shareholders of Islamic Voice Broadcasting have applied for a radio licence from Arusha.

Morogoro is set to have a third television station if the application by Merey Ally Salehe and Ahmed Mabukhut Shabiby would be approved by TCRA to trade under the name of Morogoro Television (MOTV). At present Abood Television (ATV) and SUA Television (SUAT) operate in Morogoro Municipality.

Tanzania has so far two public radio stations and two TV stations, 14 TV stations operated by local government, 35 private owned radio stations, 15 privately owned TV stations and three private TV operators.