Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: laptop

  1. #1
    art
    Guest
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Default laptop


    To all members,

    Please help me regarding may laptop bec i bought a year ago but i connot use for upgrading my receiver. The brand of my laptop is dell the only existing port inside of my latop is com 11 to 14 how can i change that into
    com 1, com 2 etc.. please help me.

  2. #2
    Gold Member Expert
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Socialist Republic of Hypocrates
    Posts
    3,578
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    do you have a physical serial port connecter in your laptop to which you can connect your receiverr upgrade cable ?


  3. #3
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    if the answer to Saed's question is YES, then you can go to control panel/system/device manager/ports. select your port, right click and hit properties. from there you can modify the port assignment under the advanced tab. most laptops does not have an io/com port so you have to use a usb-rs232 converter (like i do).
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  4. #4
    art
    Guest
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Default

    do you have a physical serial port connecter in your laptop to which you can connect your receiverr upgrade cable ?

    dear boknoy,
    I dont have a physical serial port connector in my laptop thats why i dont know what can i do please help me again.

  5. #5
    boholanon
    Guest
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by art
    do you have a physical serial port connecter in your laptop to which you can connect your receiverr upgrade cable ?

    dear boknoy,
    I dont have a physical serial port connector in my laptop thats why i dont know what can i do please help me again.
    First, you need to buy a "USB to serial Port" converter, then configure it as they have mentioned above.

  6. #6
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    43
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    You first by rs232 usb + normal rs232.

    you nied serieal cabel rs 232 usb-man + rs 232 woman-woman.

    and you can only upgrade com6. sorry my english so bath, i hope you understand me.

    usb in to you laptop and man side to + rs232 woman and other side woman put to you reptore. and loader to konverter firmware you just only Com port 6. if you not can yous com6 you put the cd for rs 232 usb and instalet driver ok. Only com6

    sorry my english bath..

  7. #7
    art
    Guest
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Default

    boholanon,

    would you please give me the exact figure of serial port converter bec. i just want to buy here in saudi before i will go for vacation but the problem i dont know in reality that serial port converter. please help me again

  8. #8
    Gold Member Expert
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Socialist Republic of Hypocrates
    Posts
    3,578
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    here how it looks like

  9. #9
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    192
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by art
    boholanon,

    would you please give me the exact figure of serial port converter bec. i just want to buy here in saudi before i will go for vacation but the problem i dont know in reality that serial port converter. please help me again
    you can buy that in any computer shop..even in your country.

  10. #10
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    swabi pakistan
    Posts
    111
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    hi!
    you have to go to computer shop or to where u buy ur reciver and buy a usb cable .and plug it in ur laptop if u have xp it will be good and windows will find it itself then just do what u wish.goooooooooooooooodluck

  11. #11
    besoy
    Guest
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Default USB-RS232

    correct buy converter usb - comm port. Try to find version 2.0,,,, ver. 1.01 having error we confirm that one since we are using loptop on our system (GSM-Nokia). Try to find somotech made by taiwan or china it's work fine. If you are here in Saudi Arabia PM me i will try to help you m8.

  12. #12
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    im using prolific based chipset from taiwan. www.prolific.com.tw
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  13. #13
    art
    Guest
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Default


    correct buy converter usb - comm port. Try to find version 2.0,,,, ver. 1.01 having error we confirm that one since we are using loptop on our system (GSM-Nokia). Try to find somotech made by taiwan or china it's work fine. If you are here in Saudi Arabia PM me i will try to help you m8

    ok i will try to fine out that kind of converter usb port and i hope i will do that when i was there in the phil.
    thank you very much for your helping me.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. laptop
    By monalisa in forum Shop
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th October 2006, 10:49
  2. MR+Laptop?
    By K-storu in forum RDI - Satelit
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th July 2006, 11:18
  3. laptop p2
    By str-evo in forum Shop
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5th June 2006, 08:19

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top