Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Senior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    On The Move
    Posts
    282
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default SATELLITE SIGNAL THROUGH INTERNET


    Dear friends,

    Is is possible to TRANSFER the satellite signal through internet.

    like one person have SATELLITE DISH,RECEIVER AND INTERNET but the other one got only STB and INTERNET.

    as i heard there is a DEVICE available in USA which can transfer the satellite signal from one RECEIVER TO ANOTHER through internet.

    Is that true....

    if there is any stuff like this then its so intresting...

    any comments...

    Regards
    ART IS TO COMMUNICATE.....
    DM800,DM500S/DM500C,XSAT410/430 WITH SLINGBOX
    ASIASAT 3S,INSAT 2E,THAICOM2/3,
    Intelsat 10,AGILA 146 KU.138 KU

  2. #2
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    342
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Well this is quite an intressting question mate ...... as far as i know the sat signal contains a data stream which should be "theoratically" able to go through any broadband network like internet ....... but as i've understood u, u mean it like: Person A live in UAE and has a dish pointed at Asiasat 3 and Person B lives in UK and has a Receiver ...... now how to connect the LNB via Internet to Receiver

  3. #3
    Gold Member Expert
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Socialist Republic of Hypocrates
    Posts
    3,578
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    currently Cardsharing data is sent to a STB via internet which is quite few kbytes, to send a complete DVB stream to an STB via internet requires a bandwidth of at least 4Mbps per side which is too much for a home broadband internet user.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    398
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Re: SATELLITE SIGNAL THROUGH INTERNET

    Quote Originally Posted by digitalpartner
    Dear friends,

    Is is possible to TRANSFER the satellite signal through internet.

    like one person have SATELLITE DISH,RECEIVER AND INTERNET but the other one got only STB and INTERNET.
    Think IPTV and yes there are a number of set top box providers doing this;

    Source/STB -> WM9 encoder -> router -> INTERNET [ground or via sat] ->ip/dvb router->STB ->TV

    MS even have a solution on microsoft.com

  5. #5
    SATELLITE GURU Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Bletchley Park Code Breaking Lab
    Posts
    2,521
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by saed
    currently Cardsharing data is sent to a STB via internet which is quite few kbytes, to send a complete DVB stream to an STB via internet requires a bandwidth of at least 4Mbps per side which is too much for a home broadband internet user.
    Hmmm I'm a home user... show me your speed

    If Evolution works, why so many idiots?


  6. #6
    Satellite Internet Expert
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    1,101
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    [quote="irdeto2engineer"]
    Quote Originally Posted by saed
    currently Cardsharing data is sent to a STB via internet which is quite few kbytes, to send a complete DVB stream to an STB via internet requires a bandwidth of at least 4Mbps per side which is too much for a home broadband internet user.
    Hmmm I'm a home user... show me your speed

    U r getting a strong link.is it through satellite or any other link?

  7. #7
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    33
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default I want the signal too

    Where should I find the software/hardware that transmit the signal via internet.
    I want to view euro programmes but I live in asia outside the footprint.
    If it is really I will buy a satellite broadband.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    THAILAND
    Posts
    1,437
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    IT SURE IS BEING DONE AND IS AVAILABLE TO ANYONE WITH THE DOUGH. THOROUGHLY TRIED AND TESTED EVEN BY BOB ERGEN OF ECHOSTAR. IT IS FANTASTIC !
    HAS COME DOWN IN PRICE TO A QUARTER OF THE COST 2 YEARS AGO SO IN A COUPLE OF YEARS WILL BE AFFORDABLE TO THE AVERAGE WESTERN CONSUMER.

    SALES INFO : www.tv2me.com

    SOMETHING TO LOOK FORWARD TO.

  9. #9
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    63
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    here




  10. #10
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    33
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default here is an alternative


  11. #11
    Senior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    On The Move
    Posts
    282
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by saas
    Well this is quite an intressting question mate ...... as far as i know the sat signal contains a data stream which should be "theoratically" able to go through any broadband network like internet ....... but as i've understood u, u mean it like: Person A live in UAE and has a dish pointed at Asiasat 3 and Person B lives in UK and has a Receiver ...... now how to connect the LNB via Internet to Receiver
    @saas

    i don't much know about this device where to buy..or how it works...?

    That's why i put this topic in RDI to know more about this intresting stuff.

    well as u mentioned that>>>Person A live in UAE and has a

    dish pointed at Asiasat 3 and Person B lives in UK and has a

    Receiver ...... now how to connect the LNB via Internet to Receiver

    As i think person B dosen't need LNB becuase the wire will go directly

    from PC>>DEVICE>> to STB...because if person B connect the LNB as

    well then what the use of that device..as i heard that device has a F-TYPE

    output which can be connected directly to receiver..

    anyone else have any information about this device ple share ur

    knowledge.

    Regards
    ART IS TO COMMUNICATE.....
    DM800,DM500S/DM500C,XSAT410/430 WITH SLINGBOX
    ASIASAT 3S,INSAT 2E,THAICOM2/3,
    Intelsat 10,AGILA 146 KU.138 KU

  12. #12
    Senior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    On The Move
    Posts
    282
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by saed
    currently Cardsharing data is sent to a STB via internet which is quite few kbytes, to send a complete DVB stream to an STB via internet requires a bandwidth of at least 4Mbps per side which is too much for a home broadband internet user.
    @SAEED

    Thanks for ur kind information...so what is the minimum requirments for the internet connection for both sides..i mean signal sender and receiver.?

    Regards
    ART IS TO COMMUNICATE.....
    DM800,DM500S/DM500C,XSAT410/430 WITH SLINGBOX
    ASIASAT 3S,INSAT 2E,THAICOM2/3,
    Intelsat 10,AGILA 146 KU.138 KU

  13. #13
    Gold Member Expert
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Socialist Republic of Hypocrates
    Posts
    3,578
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Re: SATELLITE SIGNAL THROUGH INTERNET

    Quote Originally Posted by kuband
    Source/STB -> WM9 encoder -> router -> INTERNET [ground or via sat] ->ip/dvb router->STB ->TV
    and you know the red marked area ? how it will work ? if ground link, it wont give you much speed and if satellite link it will cost you beyond your imaginations.

    MS TV IPTV Edition is a crap and Cisco IPTV is popular among DVB-S content providers. Most of the providers use it.

    But the same problem of bandwidth exist, a higher bandwidth can only be possible via sat or a digital cable link via telecom which is only allowed/affordable to ISP's.

    The futue solution could be ADSL2+ which has started getting popular.

  14. #14
    Gold Member Expert
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Socialist Republic of Hypocrates
    Posts
    3,578
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by digitalpartner
    @SAEED
    Thanks for ur kind information...so what is the minimum requirments for the internet connection for both sides..i mean signal sender and receiver.?
    Regards
    you are welcome, as i told you above that to transmit a DVB MPEG-2 compliant stream (which is used by allmost all digital satellite receivers) over internet will at least require a speed of 4mbps at each end, receiver and sender.
    But if you replace the STB with any other device which can receive lower bandwidth dependent video stream like MPEG-4, you can do it even on a dialup internet of 56kbps, it is just like transmitting your video data over video conferrence, but it wont give you much better quality

  15. #15
    Senior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    On The Move
    Posts
    282
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by saed
    Quote Originally Posted by digitalpartner
    @SAEED
    Thanks for ur kind information...so what is the minimum requirments for the internet connection for both sides..i mean signal sender and receiver.?
    Regards
    you are welcome, as i told you above that to transmit a DVB MPEG-2 compliant stream (which is used by allmost all digital satellite receivers) over internet will at least require a speed of 4mbps at each end, receiver and sender.
    But if you replace the STB with any other device which can receive lower bandwidth dependent video stream like MPEG-4, you can do it even on a dialup internet of 56kbps, it is just like transmitting your video data over video conferrence, but it wont give you much better quality
    @SAEED

    Thanks for your prompt reply..

    Will 6 Mbps to 8 Mbps INTERNET CONNECTION for both sides work

    perfectly for this proceeder..or one side needs high connection...?

    Regards
    ART IS TO COMMUNICATE.....
    DM800,DM500S/DM500C,XSAT410/430 WITH SLINGBOX
    ASIASAT 3S,INSAT 2E,THAICOM2/3,
    Intelsat 10,AGILA 146 KU.138 KU

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. PC DVB & Satellite internet
    By saed in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 1427
    Last Post: 16th December 2015, 05:47
  2. Any tool to find Satellite Signal in Real Time ?
    By urpradhan in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 21st December 2006, 19:03
  3. SATELLITE SIGNAL GO THROUGH GLASS??
    By satpalchat1 in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st August 2006, 11:14
  4. Internet two way satellite
    By chris2pple in forum Placi DVB
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th August 2006, 09:41
  5. Any FTA HD H264 satellite signal?
    By Rotita in forum RDI - Satelit
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th April 2006, 18:25

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top