RSF names 12 countries as ‘Enemies of the Internet’
March 12th, 2012

Reporters Without Borders (RSF) has included 12 countries on its latest list of ‘Enemies of the Internet’. Since the last report was published on 12 March 2011, Bahrain and Belarus have moved from “under surveillance” to “Enemies”. Libya and Venezuela have been dropped from the list of countries “under surveillance” while India and Kazakhstan have been added to it.

The 2012 list of ‘Enemies’ is: Bahrain, Belarus Burma, China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Vietnam.

Countries under Surveillance are: Australia, Egypt, Eritrea, France, India, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Russia, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey and United Arab Emirates.

Details of why each country is included on the list of ‘Enemies’ or ‘Under Surveillance’ are on the RSF website.