Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    480
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Probleme LAN Optibox 500

    Sal.Am o problema.Optibox 500 e pus la camera din mansarda , dupa un AP.
    Ap -ul primeste semnal wifi de la un router MSI RG60SE.Decodeaza fara probleme.Cand vreau sa ma uit cu dreamstream sau accesez webinterface-ul pierde legatura LAN.Daca scot cablul de la LNB din receptor, LED-ul de pe AP incepe sa palpaie si revine legatura, dupa care pot sa-l pun cablul inapoi, si merge mei departe.Sursa de alimentare este noua de 2A.Ceva solutii?

  2. #2
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Radauti, Suceava, 725400.
    Posts
    208
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Thumbs up Ajutor

    Quote Originally Posted by zottya View Post
    Sal.Am o problema.Optibox 500 e pus la camera din mansarda , dupa un AP.
    Ap -ul primeste semnal wifi de la un router MSI RG60SE.Decodeaza fara probleme.Cand vreau sa ma uit cu dreamstream sau accesez webinterface-ul pierde legatura LAN.Daca scot cablul de la LNB din receptor, LED-ul de pe AP incepe sa palpaie si revine legatura, dupa care pot sa-l pun cablul inapoi, si merge mei departe.Sursa de alimentare este noua de 2A.Ceva solutii?
    Am si eu un optibox 550s luat de la digitalsatelit. Dupa citeva luni de functionare normala al meu a avut exact acelasi defect. L-am trimis la firma si in citeva zile era reparat. Te sfatuiesc sa suni la digitalsatelit sa ceri cu tehnicul si ei il repara. Din cite stiu trebuie schimbati niste condensatori. Sper sa iti fie de folos sfatul. Catalin.

  3. #3
    Junior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    480
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Multumesc.O sa incerc.Dar daca stie cineva care condensatori ar trebui sa schimb , ar fi foarte bine.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,147
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Am si eu unul ce nu ii mai merge reteaua, luat de la mondoplast dar mi-au zis ca nu se repara. Bune ca am citit aici o sa incerc la digitalsatelit

  5. #5
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arad
    Posts
    463
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default lan dm 500

    Quote Originally Posted by cde34 View Post
    Am si eu unul ce nu ii mai merge reteaua, luat de la mondoplast dar mi-au zis ca nu se repara. Bune ca am citit aici o sa incerc la digitalsatelit
    The Slow Network Issue
    The Problem:
    The DM500 is not particulary famous for it's recording and playback abilities on an
    external mounted harddisk so don't expect miracles. But this doesn't mean it isn't
    possible to record and playback your favorite show. Always bare in mind that sending
    a high bitrate DVB stream over your network places a high demand on your network infrastructure.
    This has to be in a perfect condition for recording to work as suspected.
    A lot of users reported problems with network troughput, resulting in visible artefacts and crippeled
    playback and recording. Most of these issues have to do with bad network cabling, bad HUB's or
    network switches, slow external harddisk/PC's/NAS/SAN Arrays etc.
    Also important are the buffer settings, the used network protocols (i.e. SAMBA, CIFS, NFS etc.),
    and the used image.
    The forums are full of possible solutions, and I advice to try these solutions first, before opening
    the case of your dreambox. 90% of these problems dissappear after correct software tweaking and tuning.
    How to do this is outside of this documents scope. Please refer to the sattelite forums for more information
    on these
    subjects
    The remaining 10% has a problem.
    And lucky you there is a fix
    The Cause:
    The DM500 is equipped with a 10/100MBit ethernet interface. This interface consists of 1 chip on the
    mainboard
    and a couple of surrounding components. (on the bottom left hand of the board).
    This chip handles the network connection, and (low level) traffic management. Mostly this is an ASIX
    AX88796.
    This chip needs the surrounding components to function correctly.
    Recently a discovery was made that 3 surrounding capacitors did not quite meet the specifications given
    by the manufacturer
    of the network chip.
    First of all there is a capacitor of 33uF/16V just above the chip (on the right side). This capacitor serves as
    a current buffer
    for the ASIX and makes sure that sudden short high current demands can be handled propertly, without
    the voltage dropping
    too low for this chip to operate. You have to understand that network cabling can be very long, so it takes
    a lot of energy to
    send a signal over these wires. If this energy cannot be delivered in a very short time, network problems
    can arrise.
    The discoverer of this mod found a value of 220uF/16v (Low Impedance/ESR!) better then the standard
    33uF. With a bigger buffer,
    the chance of power problems are minimized. I totally agree with him.
    Then there are 2 VERY SMALL SMD capacitors just above the network chip. The function of these
    capacitors is not totally clear to me,
    but also have to do with delivering sufficient energy to the network. Luckely these SMD capacitors can
    stay in place, and only need a
    'backpack' of 2 parallel capacitors.
    The Solution:
    - Replace capacitor C65 (33uF/16V) (the 'big' one) by a 220uF/16V Low Impedance/ESR type.
    - Solder a 4,7 uF/16V TENTAL! capacitor in parallel with C17. Watch the polarisation!
    - Solder a 4,7 uF/16V TENTAL! capacitor in parallel with C23. Watch the polarisation!
    Use a temperature of about 350 degrees celcius, and a very small tip! Especially C17 an C23 are very
    small!
    Below a picture with polarisation of a 4,7 uF Tental capacitor.
    Replace by a 220uF/16V
    Low Impadance/ESR
    Parallel solder the 4,7uF/16V tental
    capacitors on top of these two.
    When you have done this correctly, the mod will look something like this:
    References:
    http://www.sat4all.com
    http://www.pli-images.org
    http://www.siennacountach.net/gallery/dreambox
    http://www.dreamboxonline.com/forums...ead.php?t=1983
    http://www.siennacountach.net/media/LAN_DM500.pdf
    Not Me!

  6. #6
    Junior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    nowhere
    Posts
    480
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    @twetty
    Multumesc.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top