Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Middle East
    Posts
    32
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Best STB for use in the Middle East


    I am currently using Strong 4620II (S/W 1.22p dated 11 Nov 2005, H/W 1.10, Boot Ver 2.00, CH A008, don't know what CH means) and planning to change it to a better one (if any). Anyone who can advise me of what brand and model should I buy that is good on watching cr*cked channels (specially for h*tbird, n*lesat and Ar*bsat).

    Thank you very much,
    John ([email protected])
    Strong 4620II

  2. #2
    Byte Stalker Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Planet Earth in Universe
    Posts
    939
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    m8,

    choosed a brand that's been supported by hacking community that post up to date software upgrades whenever there's a cahnged in encoding systems!
    ************************************
    The more we learn things the more we hunger for more! That's human nature I guess!

  3. #3
    Junior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    middle-earth
    Posts
    277
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Re: Best STB for use in the Middle East

    Quote Originally Posted by jp4620ii
    I am currently using Strong 4620II (S/W 1.22p dated 11 Nov 2005, H/W 1.10, Boot Ver 2.00, CH A008, don't know what CH means) and planning to change it to a better one (if any). Anyone who can advise me of what brand and model should I buy that is good on watching cr*cked channels (specially for h*tbird, n*lesat and Ar*bsat).

    Thank you very much,
    John ([email protected])
    You have a good receiver,but you don't know how to enhance it.
    if you have problem w/ this unit inform me,but i give you some hint's.

    press 6969 to enable scramble ch.
    press 8282 to enable key editor.
    press 8280 to enable biss key editor.(for turksat...nbatv)

  4. #4
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Middle East
    Posts
    32
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Re: Best STB for use in the Middle East

    Thanks for the additional tip JFT. I already know 6969 and 8282 but never tried 8280 before.

    By the way, I have a friend and he is using Ech*Sat X-7. When he bougt his receiver 6 months ago, he never update its key for watching Mult*vision Channel like what I do everyday.

    How can I do this on my Str*ng 4620II is there a software needed?

    Thanks again.
    Strong 4620II

  5. #5
    Junior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    middle-earth
    Posts
    277
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Re: Best STB for use in the Middle East

    By the way, I have a friend and he is using Ech*Sat X-7. When he bougt his receiver 6 months ago, he never update its key for watching Mult*vision Channel like what I do everyday.

    Can you confirm this unit.. Ech*Sat X-7,if it's working au.

  6. #6
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Metabox USED to au TPS keys too.

    anyhow, if you really like to have a nice STB, then you better opt for a triple dragon or dreambox. both are running on linux, and using the same CPU. though dreambox has made a headway for the last three years, triple dragon is catching up and is already considered at-par with dreambox, if not more. both boxes should last you at least 5 years before some really good technology overtakes it. but considering that these boxes run on linux and are constantly modified by third party developers, you can be rest assured of a "future-proof" STB for some years to come.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  7. #7
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    saudi arabia
    Posts
    81
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    @boknoy_ph
    hello mate can you give me some hints how to shoot Astra here in Hail, Saudi Arabia, i tried it in 190cm deepset dish but no luck. I know that my place is out of Astra footprint coverage but i am hoping for the spill signal. Any advise with regards to this matter is highly appreciated.

  8. #8
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by totingPh
    @boknoy_ph
    hello mate can you give me some hints how to shoot Astra here in Hail, Saudi Arabia, i tried it in 190cm deepset dish but no luck. I know that my place is out of Astra footprint coverage but i am hoping for the spill signal. Any advise with regards to this matter is highly appreciated.
    my advice? quit trying. i myself tried it on a 9ft dish from a friend without any signal trace at all. we are very far from the footprint, even the spill signal is very far from us, i think. i gave up on Astra almost two years ago (i saw the channel list are quite impressive so i tried).
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  9. #9
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Middle East
    Posts
    32
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Re: Best STB for use in the Middle East

    Quote Originally Posted by jft
    Can you confirm this unit.. Ech*Sat X-7,if it's working au.
    No idea if it is au or no (autoupdate, right?).
    Strong 4620II

  10. #10
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Middle East
    Posts
    32
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by boknoy_ph
    Metabox USED to au TPS keys too.

    anyhow, if you really like to have a nice STB, then you better opt for a triple dragon or dreambox. both are running on linux, and using the same CPU. though dreambox has made a headway for the last three years, triple dragon is catching up and is already considered at-par with dreambox, if not more. both boxes should last you at least 5 years before some really good technology overtakes it. but considering that these boxes run on linux and are constantly modified by third party developers, you can be rest assured of a "future-proof" STB for some years to come.
    A friend also recommended that unit, Metabox3. He told me to look for a STB with STi5518 CPU solution. I hope it is not as costly as P*ntium IV processors hehehehe. He also told me to look for a STB with CI or CA. He don't know what is better CI or CA when I asked him. Any suggestion?

    Thanks.
    Strong 4620II

  11. #11
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    if all you need is for hotbird, nilesat, arabsat, then metabox3 has both CI/CA slots on it, and has STi5518 on it (as most STBs nowadays) save for a few which use IBM chips (DM/TD) and fujitsu (satlink-7/NS3000). also, there may be a lot of other chips roaming around, but so far these are the most common in the market. So go with metabox3, it's not that costly, has good software support and has proven to be a stable box (per experience).

    you will need the CI if you get subscription cards or you need to insert funcard/atmega8 or etc to view your channels. the CAM is also usefull if you want to put something else (like a neotion/firecrypt CAM to view full-x channels).
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  12. #12
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    KSA
    Posts
    140
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    i had been using Humax5400 since nearly 5 years when it first came. pretty impressive, in those days i used to watch all the available networks by initially by programming the MOSC card with a smart mouse and then later the freecam with remote keys. then came the funcard and all the fun.

    this year though i decided to upgrade my options. did alot of internet research and Manhattan plaza st550 impressed me. bought it. it is impressive because it has PVR function and i can record digital quality programs and utilise all the benefits of time shift recording and playback. Blind search is impressive, i can catch hidden frequency by running an auto scan which are not available on lyngsat or satcodx websites. for example on PanAmsat-10 i tuned to CNBC pakistan from the very first date it started when the frequency was not known anywhere. i must also mention here that Manhattan's tuner is very sensitive and is giving me good signal for some channels that i couldnt watch on humax, Humax used to give me "No or Bad Signal" message for those channels.

    now i have a latest patch on my manhattan and enjoying AES keys benefits for my Manhattan. overall im very impressed with this receiver, manhattan has come a long way from its good old analogue days.
    STB info:
    Humax5400 with ****** FREECAM 2-019, Coship, Manhattan Plaza ST550 PVR with 80GB Maxtor Quickview HDD.
    Dish Info:
    HotBird,NileSat;ArabSat;Panamsat-10,AsiaSat3s
    Subscriptions:
    Showtime,Pehla

  13. #13
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Middle East
    Posts
    32
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Does M*nhattan Plaza ST550 has AU like what JFT had mentioned on this topic? Can I enter keys via remote on this unit? Maybe I'll do a research on this unit.

    Hey, I recently read a posted message on the one of the forums I accidently visited (I forgot what is the site). They mentioned one unit which is capable of using an image file to watch IRD*TO2 encrypted channels. I don't know how they do it or they if their claim is true. Anyone has idea?
    Strong 4620II

  14. #14
    Junior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    middle-earth
    Posts
    277
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jp4620ii
    Does M*nhattan Plaza ST550 has AU like what JFT had mentioned on this topic? Can I enter keys via remote on this unit? Maybe I'll do a research on this unit.
    i don't even know M*nhattan Plaza ST550 and i didn't mention it
    pls. confirm againm8.

  15. #15
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    Quote Originally Posted by jp4620ii
    Hey, I recently read a posted message on the one of the forums I accidently visited (I forgot what is the site). They mentioned one unit which is capable of using an image file to watch IRD*TO2 encrypted channels. I don't know how they do it or they if their claim is true. Anyone has idea?
    this could be done via cardsharing.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 16E Middle East Reception
    By boknoy_ph in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th December 2006, 04:22
  2. Fox Sport Middle East
    By gpplsn in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th September 2006, 09:18
  3. Channels in the Middle East
    By coolestteacherever in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th May 2006, 21:32
  4. More sport to Middle East
    By gepeto in forum News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th May 2006, 22:45
  5. Middle East
    By pokkiri in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th August 2005, 14:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top