Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    7
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Serial port is not available


    Hi all
    I am new to this satalite stuff, I got new satalite resiever, Hivion HV-9090 and need to update the softwere, I down loaded EMUpgrade V2.21 and tried it but I kept getting an Error msg. every time I start it, I am using a Laptop, the connection lead is a USB-RS232 from my laptop to the resceiver. but no luck, any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Byte Stalker Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Planet Earth in Universe
    Posts
    939
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    m8,

    usb to rs232 converter have quirks! some brands will work on a particular laptop and not work on others. there's no stablished standard in implementing this device.

    try other brand or ask others that works!
    ************************************
    The more we learn things the more we hunger for more! That's human nature I guess!

  3. #3
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Eire
    Posts
    1,083
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    hi,

    not quite familiar with your model ,but basically,u can try few steps:

    1.check in "Device Manager" of your laptop,what serial / com port is using the usb2serial adapter;
    2.in the software emu...,set the com port number as the one just found in device manager.
    3.check if there is any documentation for the upgrade s/ware,maybe is using some sort of baud rate,parity,and so on

    goodluck ...

  4. #4
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    7
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Thanks guys for the reply, Rolion i have tried to find out what com port the USB adapter is, but when i went to the device manger, i did not find it, how do you find out that.

  5. #5
    Gold Member Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lahore
    Posts
    3,718
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ram10
    Thanks guys for the reply, Rolion i have tried to find out what com port the USB adapter is, but when i went to the device manger, i did not find it, how do you find out that.
    Install the driver of USB to serial adapter
    Fte Max 100S
    Humax IRCI-5400z
    Asiasat 3S,NSS 6,Insat 4B,Thaicom2/5,Intelsat7/10,HB 6/7A/8

  6. #6
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    9
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default 'S video to serial port'

    Dear Masood,

    I have HP Pavilion laptop, there is no serial port so i bought an adaptor 'S video to serial port. i want to upgrade my Humax 5400 using my laptop and RS-232 cable. i have selected right com port and the sign come waitng for the STB connetion in spite of doing on and off the data is not transfered. But with same RS-232 cable i am able to upload the software from my PC. Please inform any adjustment required in laptop. Am I doing anything wrong. any driver missing. your detail reply will be appriciated.

    Safar

  7. #7
    Gold Member Expert
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Socialist Republic of Hypocrates
    Posts
    3,578
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    @safar
    you wont need an "S'Video to Serial port" adapter, if there is no other choice to program your humax5400 other than your HP Pavilion which comes without a serial port, then you have to buy a USB to Serial converter USB-RS232, and follow the steps given in above posts.

  8. #8
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ram10
    Thanks guys for the reply, Rolion i have tried to find out what com port the USB adapter is, but when i went to the device manger, i did not find it, how do you find out that.
    first, insert your usb cable (have the system detect it) then goto control panel/system/hardware/device manager/ports/right-click, hit properties then go to advanced settings and you should be able to see the comport, baud rate, etc from there. if the cable is not attached, you won't be able to see the port settings. also make sure that you load the correct driver. most usb to serial adaptors are using the prolific chipset so you may try going to www.prolific.com.tw for the updated drivers (i use wd-pl-2303h_hx_x_v20026 driver for my usb cable).
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  9. #9
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    7
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Boknoy_ph
    I have fellowed what you said but when I right clicked on ports and hit properties but could not find advanced setting, only general Tap......I am using Win Xp SP2...any other ideas

    Rolion
    I checked the serial/port the USB is using, its 6, in the emu...only com port 1 and 2...

  10. #10
    Senior Member Expert
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Eire
    Posts
    1,083
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ram10
    Boknoy_ph
    I have fellowed what you said but when I right clicked on ports and hit properties but could not find advanced setting, only general Tap......I am using Win Xp SP2...any other ideas

    Rolion
    I checked the serial/port the USB is using, its 6, in the emu...only com port 1 and 2...
    to make ASAP (As Stupid As Possible),try using a standard PC platform,so that you could save time and enjoy watching TV...most of the PCs won't have this kind of problems that you encounter by using a laptop!

    sorry...

    Regards !

  11. #11
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    7
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    got only laptop, but thanks anyway

  12. #12
    Gold Member Expert
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lahore
    Posts
    3,718
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Re: 'S video to serial port'

    Quote Originally Posted by safar
    Dear Masood,

    I have HP Pavilion laptop, there is no serial port so i bought an adaptor 'S video to serial port. i want to upgrade my Humax 5400 using my laptop and RS-232 cable. i have selected right com port and the sign come waitng for the STB connetion in spite of doing on and off the data is not transfered. But with same RS-232 cable i am able to upload the software from my PC. Please inform any adjustment required in laptop. Am I doing anything wrong. any driver missing. your detail reply will be appriciated.

    Safar
    I tried a lot to configure port setting but it seems to me not possible with USB to Serial adapter
    Fte Max 100S
    Humax IRCI-5400z
    Asiasat 3S,NSS 6,Insat 4B,Thaicom2/5,Intelsat7/10,HB 6/7A/8

  13. #13
    Junior Member Master
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    77
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ram10
    Boknoy_ph
    I have fellowed what you said but when I right clicked on ports and hit properties but could not find advanced setting, only general Tap......I am using Win Xp SP2...any other ideas

    Rolion
    I checked the serial/port the USB is using, its 6, in the emu...only com port 1 and 2...
    don't rt. click but expand 'ports' (click the + sign) and look for 'usb to serial adapter' then right click - properties - advanced settings. you will see a drop down field for the com port your device is using. change it to com 1 or 2. good luck!

  14. #14
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    @ram10,

    you have seen already that it is on com port 6, look up at jimiski's response (my mistake) and you should be able to see the comport settings and how to change it from there. of course, the easiest way is to follow rolion's advice (though not an option really).
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  15. #15
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    9
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    Thanks Masood and Saed,

    You are big help. Well for time being will use PC as it is working perfectly, but to upgrade i have to remove the Humax and refix again. By Lapptop can do it directly. If any better suggetion available please advice. Thanks again for your valued time.

    Safar

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 9th December 2010, 20:03
  2. deschidere port
    By djeclipse in forum DREAMBOX
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18th November 2006, 18:39
  3. null modem sau serial-serial?
    By lacusta in forum Placi DVB
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th July 2006, 23:11
  4. RS-232 port
    By msalman in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th February 2006, 10:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top