Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Srt 4910

  1. #1
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Srt 4910


    I just upgraded my receiver to SRT 4910. It looks great,
    But the thing is that i am not getting any HD channels, just the SD ones.
    Should i change the LNB?
    Another question, can I connect my receiver to the internet,
    I got an adapter with ethernet output

    thanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    18
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GABY_R View Post
    I just upgraded my receiver to SRT 4910. It looks great,
    But the thing is that i am not getting any HD channels, just the SD ones.
    Should i change the LNB?
    Another question, can I connect my receiver to the internet,
    I got an adapter with ethernet output

    thanks
    Which satellite are you looking at?

  3. #3
    Junior Member Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Limuru, Kenya
    Posts
    64
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GABY_R View Post
    I just upgraded my receiver to SRT 4910. It looks great,
    But the thing is that i am not getting any HD channels, just the SD ones.
    Should i change the LNB?
    Another question, can I connect my receiver to the internet,
    I got an adapter with ethernet output

    thanks

    Good afternoon Gaby_r,

    Which satellite are you on as i am in Kenya and i get HD channels from, Intelsat7/10 frequency 3739 H 26590 NHK WORLD HD.
    Measat 3a frequency 4000 H DVB-S2 - 8PSK 30000 5 HD channels at present.
    Eutelsat W3a frequency 10928 H 30000 National Geographic Channel HD UK.

    At present this are the HD channels that i access from Kenya. The are also HD channels on Nilesat and badr satellites of which i shall report back in 2 weeks time as i have a Mega structure Dish coming up for fringe satellite reception.

    All the in your quest for HD.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Thank you for your replies,
    The answer is Hotbird. The listing shows HD channels but no output even though some are not encrypted.
    What i really want to know, is there a specific LNB to get HD channels?

  5. #5
    Junior Member Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Limuru, Kenya
    Posts
    64
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GABY_R View Post
    Thank you for your replies,
    The answer is Hotbird. The listing shows HD channels but no output even though some are not encrypted.
    What i really want to know, is there a specific LNB to get HD channels?

    When the frequency of a given transponder is under DVB-S2 8PSK modulation you would require an LNB which is DVB-S2 Compliant [ HD READY } to deal with the noise figure .
    The DVB-S2 modulation standard is designed to increase the throughput of a satellite transponder, or increase down link margins for better reception.
    So far the main two LNB types which i have tested that are DVB-S2 compliant are INVANCOm and INVERTO Lnb's.
    The Lnb that rules the pack is Inverto ultra black quad LNB.

    I have noted that of late most new HD or Mpeg 4 channels are turn to DVB-S2 8PSK modulation.

  6. #6
    Junior Member Friend
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Africa(Accra-Ghana)
    Posts
    45
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kungu View Post
    When the frequency of a given transponder is under DVB-S2 8PSK modulation you would require an LNB which is DVB-S2 Compliant [ HD READY } to deal with the noise figure .
    The DVB-S2 modulation standard is designed to increase the throughput of a satellite transponder, or increase down link margins for better reception.
    So far the main two LNB types which i have tested that are DVB-S2 compliant are INVANCOm and INVERTO Lnb's.
    The Lnb that rules the pack is Inverto ultra black quad LNB.

    I have noted that of late most new HD or Mpeg 4 channels are turn to DVB-S2 8PSK modulation.
    hi kungu,
    about the dvb s2 compliant lnb's i was told it was just a marketing gimmick.You just need to get any lnb with a better performance and it should be enough to get your signal strong and clean.I sent a mail to strong-tech earlier on when we were having a discussion on those lnb's and that was the info i got.When i'm free,i'll send you the conversation that took place.Enjoy your day.

  7. #7
    Junior Member Junior
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    3
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Well folks, it seems that swordswifter is right.
    I bought a new lnb (HD ready) even though the seller told me that all lnb are by default HD ready, but i bought it anyways. However I couldn’t get any results.
    Interesting note that the signal strength is around 64% maybe I should work on strengthening it.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Teacher
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Mauritius
    Posts
    103
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default


    Has anyone install more than 4 LNBs on the SRT 4910. Just want to know whether the diseqc 1.1 works well on that unit. Thanks

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top