Register

Welcome to the RDI-Board Community.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.


Donate Now Goal amount for this month: 100 EUR, Received: 100 EUR (100%)
Donate to support this site...

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    12
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Repeated rebooting


    Hello guys,
    I'm new here. I get impatient after keying in codes without response after a few minutes from my Excel Mediacom box. I shut it often and reboot again. Am I playing dangerously?

  2. #2
    Platinum member Expert
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    29°20'N 47°59'E
    Posts
    5,711
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default Re: Repeated rebooting

    Quote Originally Posted by blubax
    Hello guys,
    I'm new here. I get impatient after keying in codes without response after a few minutes from my Excel Mediacom box. I shut it often and reboot again. Am I playing dangerously?
    not really, you'll simply get irritable and will soon decide to ditch your box and change it for something else much better.
    HP-Compaq DC5000 MT 1.5GB RAM
    Debian Squeeze with Smargos
    CCcam 2.1.4

  3. #3
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    12
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Presto! I have a reply. Thanks a lot boknoy_ph. What silly questions I make. It shows only my stupidity. And I stumbled on this only today.
    So, where can I get what better here in 'pinas?

  4. #4
    Junior Member Teacher
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    asia
    Posts
    301
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blubax
    Presto! I have a reply. Thanks a lot boknoy_ph. What silly questions I make. It shows only my stupidity. And I stumbled on this only today.
    So, where can I get what better here in 'pinas?

    have you tried metabox?
    Bu Ru Hu Xue, Yan De Hu Ze
    Ton Zhou Gon Ji

  5. #5
    Junior Member Friend
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    12
    Posts Thanks / Likes

    Default

    Not yet, though from the forum, it interests me, but nobody here I know has it. Guess if I will have someone going to HK, I may ask for favors. Meantime, I'm just going over its features. Thanks lakaypogi.

  6. #6
    az30094
    Guest
    RDI - Board Default Avatar

    Default


    I'm new here. I get impatient after keying in codes without response after a few minutes from my Excel Mediacom box. I shut it often and reboot again. Am I playing dangerously?
    Technically speaking, repeaded switching on/off an equipment definitely wears down (electrically) the power supply components and even part of your circuitry and also some sophisticated components. This may lead to a shorterining the life of your equipment. Hence, it is undesirable to repeatedly switch on/off any equipment. Doing it occasionally is ok. Sometimes you have to do it, as it will effect a hard reset (similar to cold restart of a computer), and clear any problem with faltering hardware/software.

    Take care.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 5400z rebooting need help
    By khan2ton in forum RDI - English
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th October 2006, 01:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Back to Top